Deloitte chooses the “Gateway" building at Brussels Airport

January 16, 2013

DELOITTE has signed a long-term lease for the use of the “Gateway” building.
CODIC and IMMOBEL will join forces to develop the “Gateway” project in Zaventem on the site of the old airport terminal. Codic and Immobel were assisted by Jones Lang LaSalle while DELOITTE Belgium could count on the help of its internal team from the DELOITTE Real Estate department.
DELOITTE will occupy the entire building, erected around an impressive atrium, a transaction that contributes to the success of the “Gateway” project.

A chronological survey of this symbolic project for the airport…

A unique project at the airport
In July 2012 The Brussels Airport Company entrusted the realisation of “Gateway” to CODIC: a unique office development project at Brussels Airport. The project includes the overall redevelopment of the former office building adjacent to the old terminal. Sabena, the former Belgian Airports and Airways Agency as well as part of BIAC and Belgocontrol used to have their offices in this U-shaped complex. This renovation project will connect the – as yet still empty – office building with the current airport terminal, which according to reports is one of the most efficient and comfortable terminals in Europe.

The redevelopment not only includes a thorough renovation of the existing structure, but also the construction of an additional wing to turn the U-shape into a more efficient closed entity built around an exquisite atrium. The “Gateway” project is a nice example of a sustainable renovation project that respects the original concept. The new office space will accommodate 2,000 members of staff.

The exceptional situation of the building is one of its major assets: it is located in the very centre of the airport, on top of a railway station with high-speed and intercity trains, in the immediate vicinity of the country’s largest bus station and with a permanent offer of taxi services. Over 610 daily flights, 19 million passengers a year, 140 trains and 1,000 buses a day, as well as 17,000 parking spaces on the airport site make Brussels Airport one of the business locations in Belgium that can boast the best connections.

Gateway is the first step in the development of the roughly 400,000 m² “Airport Village” which – following the example of developments in other countries including the “World Trade Center” at Schiphol, the “Square” in Frankfurt and the office developments around Munich airport – aims at the gradual establishment of offices, meeting facilities, conference centres and hotels.

A CODIC/IMMOBEL partnership and a prestigious tenant
CODIC and IMMOBEL will join forces to develop this project for which a long-term lease was signed end December by CODIC, IMMOBEL and DELOITTE.

Thierry BEHIELS, CEO of CODIC, and Gaëtan PIRET, CEO of IMMOBEL, explain:
“A tenant such as DELOITTE offers the exceptional opportunity, for us as well as for The Brussels Airport Company, to develop a highly visible building tailored to the needs of a well-known tenant, a true ‘flagship’ that meets the most advanced environmental standards and technological requirements.”

Arnaud Feist, CEO of The Brussels Airport Company: “We are very happy to be working on this project with professional and reputable partners such as CODIC, IMMOBEL and DELOITTE. This renovation is a nice example of the sustainable conversion of a historic building and restores one of the iconic buildings at the airport to its old lustre. With this project the airport proves its potential for this kind of commercial developments.”

Rik VANPETEGHEM, CEO of DELOITTE
“Companies today are undergoing major changes, and the New Way of Working is on the rise. Employees themselves are requesting more flexibility and better mobility. And that is exactly what DELOITTE Belgium can offer through this innovative workplace.
Thanks to the immediate vicinity of the train station, Gateway offers direct access to public transport, thereby raising the quality and the efficiency of the work environment. Moreover, its close proximity to the airport and the international Thalys station allows DELOITTE to position its offices as the “Gateway to Europe”.”


Pdf of the press release

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Deloitte choisit de s'installer dans l'immeuble « Gateway » à Brussels Airport

16 janvier 2013

Un bail de longue durée a été signé avec DELOITTE pour l’occupation de l’immeuble « Gateway ».

Le projet « Gateway » sera développé par CODIC et IMMOBEL sur le site de l’ancien terminal à l’aéroport de Zaventem. CODIC et IMMOBEL ont été conseillés par Jones Lang LaSalle tandis que DELOITTE Belgique a eu recours à son équipe interne du département DELOITTE Real Estate pour la négociation du contrat.
DELOITTE occupera l’entièreté du bâtiment qui s’articule autour d’un atrium imposant. Cette transaction contribue au succès du projet « Gateway ».

Chronologie de ce projet emblématique pour l’aéroport …

Un projet unique à l’aéroport
The Brussels Airport Company a choisi CODIC, en juillet 2012, pour la réalisation de « Gateway » : un projet unique de bureaux à l’aéroport de Bruxelles. Le projet comporte le redéveloppement complet des anciens bureaux appartenant à l’ancien bâtiment du terminal. Ce complexe en « U » abritait notamment la Sabena, l’ancienne Régie des voies aériennes, puis une partie de BIAC et de Belgocontrol. Ce rajeunissement permet à l’immeuble de bureaux – vide – de rejoindre le terminal de l’aéroport, considéré comme l’un des plus confortables et efficaces d’Europe.

Le redéveloppement, prévoit non seulement une rénovation en profondeur de l’ensemble actuel, mais également l’ajout d’une aile supplémentaire permettant à la forme en « U » de devenir un ensemble fermé plus efficace avec un superbe atrium en son coeur. Le projet « Gateway » est un bel exemple de reconversion durable respectueux du concept d’origine. Au total, il offrira une surface de bureaux capables d’accueillir 2000 collaborateurs.

Sa situation unique est un atout de taille : situé au coeur de l’aéroport, au-dessus d’une gare ferroviaire accueillant des trains à grande vitesse ainsi que des trains régionaux avec l’une des plus grandes stations de bus du pays et une offre permanente de taxis. Avec plus de 610 vols par jour, 19 millions de passagers par an, 140 trains et 1000 bus par jour ainsi que 17.000 places de parking sur le site de l’aéroport, Brussels Airport est le lieu de travail qui bénéficie d’une des meilleures connectivités en matière de transport en Belgique.

« Gateway » est la première étape dans le développement de la zone « Airport Village » qui prévoit notamment l’implantation progressive de bureaux, de salles de réunions, de centres de conférences, d’hôtels, le tout d’une capacité totale de 400.000 m2, à l’instar de ce qui se fait dans les autres pays comme le « World Trade Center » à Schiphol, le « Square » à Francfort et les bureaux entourant l’aéroport de Munich.

Un partenariat CODIC/IMMOBEL et un locataire prestigieux
CODIC et IMMOBEL développeront en partenariat cette vaste opération, pour laquelle un bail de longue durée a été signé fin décembre par CODIC, IMMOBEL et DELOITTE.

Thierry BEHIELS, CEO de CODIC, et Gaëtan PIRET, CEO d’ IMMOBEL, précisent : « Pouvoir accueillir un locataire tel que DELOITTE constitue une opportunité exceptionnelle, également pour The Brussels Airport Company, de développer un immeuble particulièrement visible, un véritable flagship, répondant aux exigences d’un locataire de renom et aux normes environnementales et technologiques les plus avancées ».

Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company ajoute : “Nous sommes très contents de pouvoir travailler sur ce projet innovateur avec des partenaires professionnels et réputés comme CODIC, IMMOBEL et DELOITTE. Cette rénovation est un bel exemple de reconversion durable d’un bâtiment historique et permettra à un des emblèmes de notre aéroport de retrouver toute sa splendeur. Ce projet démontre le potentiel que nous avons à l’aéroport pour des développements commerciaux similaires. »

Rik VANPETEGHEM, CEO de DELOITTE : « Aujourd’hui, les entreprises subissent de nombreux changements, aussi des stratégies en matière de ‘new ways of working’ sont de plus en plus à l'étude. Les employés aspirent par exemple à plus de flexibilité au niveau du temps de travail et à une mobilité plus appropriée. En optant pour le Gateway, DELOITTE répond de manière adéquate à ces requêtes. Grâce à sa proximité immédiate de la gare ferroviaire, le Gateway offre une excellente accessibilité en transports en commun tout en privilégiant la qualité et l’efficacité de l’environnement de travail. Sa proximité immédiate de l’aéroport et de la gare multinationale TGV, permet également à DELOITTE de positionner ses bureaux bruxellois comme le « Gateway to Europe ».

Pdf du communiqué de presse

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company