Finnair Cargo chooses Brussels Airport as its second European cargo hub

January 8, 2013

In March 2013, the Finnish cargo airline Finnair Cargo will open a new cargo hub at Brussels Airport. Finnair is one of Europe strongest airlines for cargo, strongly present in the Asian markets. Just like Brussels Airport, this company focuses on specialized transports like pharmaceutical products. In addition to its home airport in Helsinki, the carrier decided to open a second cargo hub with convenient direct access to the important European cargo market in Continental Europe.  

Apart from increasing the volume of cargo carried on board of existing passenger flights and of cargo trucked between both hubs, Finnair will also open a full-cargo route using MD-11F aircraft.  Via Helsinki, the Finnair network will offer convenient access for cargo to the 14 destinations in Asia that the airline operates with its passenger aircraft: Nagoya, Osaka, Tokyo Narita, Seoul, Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Chongqing, Xi'an, Hanoi, Delhi, Bangkok and Singapore. Moreover, the carrier also operates direct full-cargo services via Helsinki to Hong Kong and Mumbai.

Besides these existing routes, Finnair plans to open a direct full-cargo service from Brussels Airport to New York JFK and Chicago O’Hare as of March. In a later stage, Finnair may also decide to open new direct routes to cargo destinations in Africa and Central and South America.

Thanks to the new European legislation on traffic rights, European carriers are now allowed to open a second cargo hub in Europe but until now only few have done so. The situation of their home airport Helsinki provides Finnair with an excellent operating base to destinations in the north of Asia, but is geographically outside of the centre of European cargo traffic. With its decision to open a second hub in Brussels Airport, Finnair now gets access to a second domestic market. Bringing together Finnair, which largely specialises in the transportation of pharmaceuticals, and the presence of a large number of pharmaceutical companies in our country, opens new opportunities for both parties. With its decision, Finnair opens convenient connections to various regions in the world where there is a high demand for our export products within this sector.

“Finnair Cargo's target is to become one of the TOP 5 cargo carriers between Europe and Northeast Asia, and the opening of the Brussels cargo hub to strengthen our cargo service via Helsinki is an important step in this vision", states Mr Juha Järvinen, Managing Director of Finnair Cargo.  

Arnaud Feist, CEO of The Brussels Airport Company is delighted with this development: “With Finnair we will have a European carrier at Brucargo with whom we can examine how to extend the market for the pharmaceutical and other industries in our economy that are highly dependent on importation and exportation. This opens the door to a whole range of new opportunities we wish to explore together”.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Finnair Cargo choisit Brussels Airport pour son deuxième hub européen de fret

8 janvier 2013

La compagnie aérienne finlandaise de fret Finnair Cargo inaugure en mars 2013 un nouveau hub cargo à Brussels Airport. Finnair est l’un des transporteurs de fret aérien les plus importants en Europe et est très actif en Asie. Tout comme Brussels Airport, la compagnie aérienne se spécialise de plus en plus dans le transport de cargaisons spécialisées telles que les produits pharmaceutiques. La compagnie a décidé d’ouvrir, en complément à son aéroport d’attache Helsinki, un nouveau hub cargo offrant un accès direct et aisé à l’important marché de fret aérien d’Europe continentale.

Une liaison aérienne entre les deux hubs, opérée avec des avions cargo MD-11F, vient s’ajouter au renforcement du transport de fret à bord des avions passagers de la liaison aérienne actuelle et au transport par camions. Via Helsinki, le réseau de Finnair offre dorénavant pour le fret un accès aisé et accéléré aux 14 destinations asiatiques que la compagnie dessert avec des appareils passagers: Nagoya, Osaka, Tokyo Narita, Seoul, Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Chongqing, Xi'an, Hanoi, Delhi, Bangkok et Singapore. En outre, la compagnie assure via Helsinki des vols cargo directs réguliers vers Hong Kong et Mumbai.

S’ajoutant à ces liaisons aériennes actuelles, Finnair prévoit à partir du mois de mars des vols cargo directs depuis Bruxelles à destination de New York JFK et Chicago O’Hare. Dans une phase ultérieure, la compagnie finlandaise envisage également de nouvelles destinations cargo directes en Afrique et en Amérique Latine.  

L’ouverture par un transporteur européen d’un deuxième hub cargo en Europe est assez exceptionnelle. La nouvelle réglementation européenne en matière de droits de trafic le permet. La position géographique de son port d’attache Helsinki offre à Finnair une excellente base pour des liaisons vers l’Asie du Nord, mais est excentrée par rapport au marché du fret européen. Par sa décision, Finnair s’offre l’accès à un deuxième marché intérieur. Le rapprochement entre Finnair, qui se spécialise largement dans le transport de produits pharmaceutiques, et les nombreux producteurs de médicaments actifs dans notre pays crée de nouvelles possibilités pour les deux parties. En ouvrant son hub bruxellois, Finnair offre des liaisons aisées entre diverses régions du monde connaissant une forte demande de nos produits d’exportation de ce secteur.

“Finnair Cargo a pour objectif de faire partie du top 5 des compagnies cargo opérant entre l’Europe et l’Asie du Nord-Est, et l’ouverture du hub cargo à Bruxelles est une étape importante dans le cadre de cette vision”, a déclaré Juha Järvinen, Managing Director de Finnair Cargo.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de The Brussels Airport Company, se réjouit de ce développement: “L’arrivée de Finnair à Brucargo nous donne l’occasion d’examiner avec cette compagnie européenne comment élargir l’horizon pour la pharmacie et pour d’autres secteurs de notre économie largement tributaires des importations et des exportations. Ceci ouvre de nouvelles perspectives que nous souhaitons explorer ensemble”.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company