Brussels Airport: decrease in passenger numbers compensated by long haul traffic

December 11, 2012

Passengers
In November Brussels Airport welcomed 1,351,000 passengers, down 1.9% on the corresponding period last year. This decrease is largely due to a general decline in the economy. Contrary to the overall slightly downward trend we notice a steady general increase of intercontinental traffic, in particular on the routes operated by Brussels Airlines and other Star Alliance carriers. Low fare equally continues to grow strongly.

Movements
In November, Brussels Airport registered 19,000 flights, a decrease by 4.6% on pcp. Again we notice that the number of flights is growing at a slower pace or decreasing more rapidly than the number of passengers. The increasing average number of passenger per flight is explained by an improved load factor and the use of larger aircraft.

Cargo
With 34,608 tonnes carried, cargo traffic was down 17% on the corresponding month last year. For the first time this year, Brussels Airport records a decrease in all cargo segments (full freighter, belly cargo and integrator traffic).  These figures are entirely in line with the negative trend in cargo traffic elsewhere in Europe.

New routes
On 3 December, Air Europe started a two daily service to Madrid. Demavia / Fly Congo launched a direct full-freighter service to Luanda and Kinshasa.
On top of earlier announcements, Vueling is to open routes to Alicante and Malaga in addition to its flights to Barcelona and Valencia. Thomas Cook Airlines opens four new routes: Bastia, Biarritz, Nice and Reykjavik. Brussels Airlines is to resume its service to Palermo and Aegean Airlines is adding a service to Rhodes to its current flight offer to Athens, Iraklion and Corfu.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : baisse du nombre de passagers compensée par le trafic long-courrier

11 décembre 2012

Passagers
1.351.000 passagers ont fréquenté Brussels Airport en novembre, une baisse de 1.9% par rapport à la même période de l’année dernière. Pour une large part, cette diminution est la conséquence de la tendance générale de l’économie. Contrairement à la tendance générale légèrement baissière, la hausse du trafic intercontinental dans son ensemble persiste, principalement chez Brussels Airlines et chez d’autres compagnies membres de Star Alliance. Le transport à bas prix continue lui aussi à croitre fortement.

Mouvements
Le nombre de mouvements d‘avions s’inscrit en recul de 4,6%, totalisant 19.900 mouvements en novembre. On constate une nouvelle fois que le nombre de vols croît moins vite ou diminue plus rapidement que le nombre de passagers. La croissance du nombre moyen de passagers par vol s’explique par un meilleur taux d’occupation et l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands.

Fret
Le volume de fret transporté atteint 34.608 tonnes, soit 17% de moins que l’année dernière. Pour la première fois cette année, Brussels Airport note une baisse tant du trafic cargo que du volume de fret à bord des vols passagers et du trafic intégrateur. Ces chiffres sont toutefois parfaitement conformes à l’évolution négative du fret aérien en Europe.

Nouvelles routes
Depuis le 3 décembre, Air Europa assure deux vols quotidiens à destination de Madrid. Demavia / Fly Congo a ouvert une liaison cargo directe vers Luanda et Kinshasa.
Outre les nouveautés déjà annoncées, Vueling ajoute Alicante et Malaga aux destinations de Barcelone et de Valence qu’elle dessert déjà. Thomas Cook Airlines ouvre quatre nouvelles routes: Bastia, Biarritz, Nice et Reykjavik. Brussels Airlines reprend ses vols à destination de Palerme tandis qu’Aegean Airlines, qui dessert déjà Athènes, Héraklion et Corfou, a programmé un vol à destination de Rhodes.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company