Brussels Airport: slight decrease in passenger numbers and cargo volume in October

November 12, 2012

Passengers
In October Brussels Airport welcomed 1,648,000 passengers, 1.6% down on the same month last year. This minor decrease is explained by the announced rationalisation on the intra-European network operated by Brussels Airlines, the slightly disappointing traffic figures during the autumn mid-term holidays and the impact of hurricane Sandy, which caused 18 transatlantic flights to be cancelled. Contrary to the downward trend, we record a general growth in intercontinental traffic, especially on the routes operated by Brussels Airlines and other Star Alliance carriers. The low-fare segment too continues to grow strongly.

Movements
The number of aircraft movements in October amounts to 19,900, a decrease of 3.5% on pcp. We again find that the number of flights increases at a slower pace or decreases more rapidly than the number of passengers. The growing average number of passengers per flight is explained by a better load factor and the use of larger planes.

Cargo
With 36.346 tonnes carried, cargo traffic is down by 12,9 % on October last year. For the whole year till now, traffic volumes remained about the same as last year’s, and with this result Brussels Airport performs better than most European airports. The impact of the recession in cargo traffic to and from Europe is now also being felt in the full-cargo segment at our airport.  Still, belly cargo (cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft) continues to grow and integrator traffic too is doing relatively well.


New routes
At the end of October Brussels Airlines launched a new service to Edinburgh, easyJet now operates the Brussels Airport – Basel route and Thomas Cook has opened a new route to the Cape Verde Islands.  On 3 December, Air Europa will start operating two daily flights to Madrid. Demavia / Fly Congo launched a direct full-cargo service to Luanda en Kinshasa.
For the second half of the winter season, we can announce a fourth weekly flight to Bangkok by Thai Airways and a sixth and seventh weekly flight to Doha by Qatar Airways.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : passagers et fret en légère baisse en octobre

12 novembre 2012

Passagers
Quelque 1.648.000 passagers ont fréquenté Brussels Airport en octobre, une baisse de 1.6% par rapport au même mois de l’année dernière. Ce léger recul s’explique par la rationalisation annoncée du réseau intra-européen de Brussels Airlines, par un trafic quelque peu décevant pendant le congé de Toussaint et par l’impact de l’ouragan Sandy qui a causé l’annulation de 18 vols transatlantiques. Contrastant avec cette tendance baissière, le trafic intercontinental dans son ensemble s’est inscrit en hausse, principalement chez Brussels Airlines et les autres compagnies membres de Star Alliance. Le trafic à bas tarifs poursuit lui aussi sa forte croissance.

Mouvements
Le nombre de mouvements d’avion a diminué de 3,5% en octobre, totalisant 19.900 vols. On constate une nouvelle fois que le nombre de vols augmente moins vite que le nombre de passagers, ou diminue plus rapidement. La croissance du nombre moyen de passagers par vol s’explique par un meilleur taux d’occupation et l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands.

Fret
Le volume de fret diminue de 36.346 tonnes, un recul de 12,9 % par rapport au mois d’octobre de l’année dernière. Pour toute l’année la situation reste au status quo comparé à l’année passée.  Brussels Airport dépasse largement la moyenne européenne. Toutefois le trafic des avions cargo à Brussels Airport commence à subir lui aussi les effets de la récession dans le transport cargo au départ et à destination de l’Europe. Le volume de fret à bord des avions passagers se maintient toutefois à la hausse, et le segment intégrateur se porte bien également.

Nouvelles routes
Fin octobre, Brussels Airlines a inauguré un nouveau vol à destination d’Edinbourg, tandis que easyJet relie dorénavant Brussels Airport à Bâle et que Thomas Cook Airlines vole vers les îles du Cap Vert. A partir du 3 décembre Air Europa assure deux vols quotidiens à destination de Madrid. Dans le domaine du fret, une nouvelle liaison cargo a été ouverte par Demavia / Fly Congo offrant des vols cargo directs à destination de Luanda et Kinshasa.
Pour la deuxième moitié de la saison d’hiver, on note dès à présent un quatrième vol hebdomadaire à destination de Bangkok par Thai Airways International et un sixième et un septième vol hebdomadaire à destination de Doha par Qatar Airways.


 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company