Brussels Airport wins global Routes Marketing Award

October 2, 2012

Last night in Abu Dhabi  Brussels Airport was awarded the overall Routes Airport  Marketing Award.

Twice a year, the international Routes trade fair brings together airports and airlines from around the globe. In a kind of speed-dating environment they get the chance to meet all potential new customers at a single location.  Any interesting contacts can be followed up later by a vsit in their own country, but this networking event saves them several weeks or even months of travelling around the world. 

The Routes organisation also rewards airports for their excellence in airport marketing. In what way do airports succeed in attracting the attention of airlines, how well did they prepare their cases and how efficient are their efforts? During the Routes Awards the airlines do not reward the best airport per continent but also the overall winner.

In the past, Brussels Airport has already been awarded Best Airport in Europe several years in a row. Yesterday it again  won the prize of Best of Europe. What's more, at the end of the day, Brussels Airport also triumphed as overall global winner.

The Routes Award winners are selected by the airlines themselves following a voting system per region. Apart from Brussels Airport, the other regional winners were Dallas Fort/Worth International Airport honoured from the Americas region, Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Nairobi from the Africa region, Ekaterinburg Koltsovo International Airport from the CIS category and Singapore Changi for Asia.  Brussels Airport winning the overall award was the topping on the cake. 

Arnaud Feist, CEO of The Brussels Airport Company was delighted: “If airlines keep voting us the best airport in Europe for several years in a row, and the best in the world for the second time for our airline marketing efforts, the credit goes to our marketing team for all the hard work they are doing 24/7. But far more important than this award is the tangible result of their efforts: new direct routes, new airlines and increased frequencies. This does not only result in a larger choice of carriers and destinations for the Belgian traveller, but also in an extra added value for our economy that runs into hundreds of millions of euros and a direct and indirect employment of several thousands of jobs. It is our guarantee for staying among the very best airport in the world, for airlines as well as passengers”.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport meilleur aéroport au monde sur le plan du marketing

2 octobre 2012

La nuit dernière à Abu Dhabi, Brussels Airport a été désigné meilleur aéroport du monde lors des Routes Airport Marketing Awards. Le salon international Routes est le lieu par excellence où tous les aéroports et compagnies aériennes se rencontrent deux fois par an. Lors d’un genre de speed-dating, ils ont l’occasion de rencontrer tous les futurs clients potentiels sous le même toit. Les contacts intéressants peuvent être visités chez eux par la suite mais grâce à ce concept les participants économisent des semaines voire des mois de voyages mondiaux.

Chaque année, les organisateurs de Routes décernent des prix aux aéroports qui se sont distingués au niveau du marketing aéroportuaire.  Quelle est la façon dont ils attirent l’attention des compagnies aériennes, dans quelle mesure leurs dossiers sont-ils bien étayés, et quelles est l’efficacité de leurs efforts ? Les Routes Awards, décernés par les compagnies aériennes, récompensent non seulement les meilleurs aéroports par continent mais aussi le meilleur aéroport mondial.

Les dernières années Brussels Airport a déjà été désigné plusieurs années d’affilé comme meilleur aéroport en Europe sur ce plan, et a de nouveau décroché hier le prix de ‘Best of Europe’. De plus, à la fin de la soirée, Brussels Airport a pour la deuxième fois décroché le prix principal de meilleur aéroport du monde.

Les gagnants des Routes Awards sont désignés par les compagnies aériennes elles-mêmes sur la base d’un système de votes par région. Outre Brussels Airport, les aéroports de Dallas Fort/Worth (É.-U.), Jomo Kenyatta à Nairobi (Afrique), Singapour Changi (Asie) et Ekaterinburg Koltsovo International Airport (CEI, l’ex-URSS) ont également été récompensés d’un Routes Award. Le plus beau de l’histoire reste néanmoins le fait que Brussels Airport ait décroché le prix mondial.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de The Brussels Airport Company est ravi : « Lorsque les compagnies aériennes continuent à nous récompenser plusieurs années d’affilé comme meilleur aéroport européen et même deux fois comme meilleur aéroport mondial sur le plan du marketing aéroportuaire, c’est une reconnaissance incroyable pour l’équipe exceptionnelle qui s’efforce 24 heures sur 24 à cette fin. Mais plus important encore que de recevoir ce trophée est le résultat tangible de tous ces efforts : l’ouverture de nouvelles liaisons directes, l’accueil de nouvelles compagnies et l’augmentation des fréquences. Leurs efforts résultent non seulement dans un plus large choix de compagnies et de destinations pour les passagers belges, mais apportent également  une valeur ajoutée à notre économie qui s’élève à des centaines de millions d’euros et des milliers d’emplois directs et indirects. C’est notre garantie pour continuer à figurer parmi les meilleurs aéroports dans le monde, tant pour les compagnies aériennes que pour les passagers. »

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company