Brussels Airport and Codic start Gateway office project

September 18, 2012

The Brussels Airport Company has chosen Codic to deliver Gateway: a unique office project at Brussels Airport. The project comprises the complete redevelopment of former offices that formed part of the old terminal building. The U-shaped complex was home to Sabena, the former Belgian Airways and Airports Agency and later a part of BIAC and Belgocontrol. This renovation will bring the now empty office building up to the same standard as the airport terminal itself, seen as one of the most comfortable and efficient in Europe.  

The redevelopment will not only cover complete renovation of the existing space but also the addition of an extra wing, turning the U shape into a more efficient enclosed complex with an attractive atrium in the central courtyard. The Gateway project is a good example of sustainable conversion with respect for the original concept. Total office space of ca. 30,000 m² will be created, offering a workplace for 2,000 employees. The unique location, right next to the airport and train station, is of course a major asset, along with the excellent connectivity through various means of transport. With more than 100 trains, 700 flights and 1,000 buses a day, Brussels Airport is Belgium's most multi-modal workplace.
The start of the construction project is planned for early 2014 and completion for 2016. The project comprises a total investment of more than EUR 100 million.

Gateway is an important first step in the development of the Airport Village project that will progressively provide strategic implementation of offices, meeting spaces, conference centres and related services, eventually covering a total area of 400,000 m².

Arnaud Feist, CEO of The Brussels Airport Company explains: "The demand for modern office infrastructure at airports is very high for two reasons: we are both an airport and an important multi-modal hub. For both practical and image-related reasons, that makes the location attractive to companies with a strong international character, whose staff and customers fly regularly. And the aeroplanes are not the only important advantage. The fast train connections to all parts of the country, extensive parking options, car rental companies and a wide variety of bus services make the location extremely accessible for business partners and employees.”

Christophe Jacobs, General Manager of Codic Belgium also notes: “In 2010 we commenced analysis of Gateway and in particular its location. Following a thorough comparative analysis, in cooperation with Jones Lang Lasalle, of the office markets at the Schiphol, Frankfurt and Munich airports, we were fully convinced of the unique European location, in a hub offering almost every form of transport. As always, a high-quality office concept was developed according to the internal CODIC benchmarks, this time in cooperation with the architecture firm Jaspers & Eyers, to be unveiled in the course of 2016.

Download the artist impression

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport et Codic lancent le projet de bureaux Gateway

18 septembre 2012

The Brussels Airport Company a choisi CODIC pour la réalisation de Gateway : un projet unique de bureaux à l’aéroport de Bruxelles. Le projet comporte le redéveloppement complet des anciens bureaux appartenant à l’ancien bâtiment du terminal. Ce complexe en « U » abritait notamment la Sabena, l’ancienne Régie des voies aériennes, puis une partie de BIAC et de Belgocontrol. Ce rajeunissement permet à l’immeuble de bureaux – vide – de rejoindre le terminal de l’aéroport, considéré comme l’un des plus confortables et efficaces d’Europe.

Le redéveloppement prévoit non seulement une rénovation en profondeur de l’ensemble actuel, mais également l’ajout d’une aile supplémentaire permettant à la forme en « U » de devenir un ensemble fermé plus efficace avec un superbe atrium en son cœur. Le projet Gateway est un bel exemple de reconversion durable respectueux du concept d’origine. Au total, il offrira une surface de bureaux d’environ 30 000 m² capables d’accueillir 2000 collaborateurs. Sa situation unique, juste à côté de l’aéroport et de la gare ferroviaire, est en effet un atout de taille, à l’instar de la connectivité via les différents moyens de transport. Avec plus de 100 trains, 700 vols et 1000 bus par jour, Brussels Airport est le lieu de travail le plus multimodal de notre pays.

La première pierre du projet de construction devrait être posée début 2014 et le tout sera normalement bouclé en 2016. Le projet représente un investissement total de plus de 100 millions d’euros.

Gateway constitue une première étape importante dans le développement du projet Airport Village qui prévoit l’implantation stratégique et progressive de bureaux, salles de réunion, centres de conférences ainsi que tous les services y afférents pour une superficie totale, au final, de 400 000 m².


Arnaud Feist, CEO de The Brussels Airport Company explique : « La demande d’infrastructures de bureaux modernes au sein de l’aéroport est très forte, et ce pour une double raison : nous sommes à la fois un aéroport et un important carrefour multimodal. Tant d’un point de vue pratique que pour leur image, cet emplacement est attrayant pour les entreprises à très fort caractère international, dont les collaborateurs et clients sont amenés à prendre souvent l’avion. Mais les avions ne sont pas le seul atout de taille : la présence de connexions ferroviaires rapides vers les quatre coins du pays, de vastes possibilités de parking, de sociétés de location de voitures et d’une riche offre de bus rend cet endroit facilement accessible pour les partenaires d’affaires et les collaborateurs. »

Christophe Jacobs, General Manager Codic Belgique note également : « En 2010, nous avons commencé à analyser Gateway et en particulier son emplacement. Après une analyse comparative poussée, menée en collaboration avec Jones Lang Lasalle, du marché des bureaux aux aéroports de Schiphol, Francfort et Munich, nous étions définitivement convaincus par cet emplacement européen unique, relié par presque tous les moyens de transport. Comme toujours, un concept de bureaux de pointe a été élaboré, dans la droite ligne des références internes de CODIC, mais cette fois en collaboration avec le bureau d’architectes Jaspers & Eyers. Ce projet devrait voir le jour dans le courant de 2016. »

Vue d'artiste du projet Gateway

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company