Ethiopian Airlines presents B787 Dreamliner at Brussels Airport

September 10, 2012
Today, 10th September, a Boeing B787 visited Belgium for the very first time. Ethiopian Airlines, which normally uses Boeing B757 and B767 aircraft on its Brussels route, exceptionally operated the route with its brand-new B787. The B787 Dreamliner is a commercial airplane developed by the Amercian constructor Boeing.

This is the very first time a Boeing B787 lands at Brussels. The Dreamliner is assembled in the Boeing factory in Everett (Seattle, Washington). So far, over 850 Dreamliner planes have been sold to airlines around the globe.  The first of these have been put into commercial service during the past few months.

The Boeing 787 has a range of 14,000 to 16,000 km, which is more than most other aircraft. It is more fuel-efficient and ecological than previous generation aircraft.  To achieve this, Boeing used a new generation of bleedless engines, improved the aircraft’s aerodynamics and reduced its weight.  The heavy hydraulic system has been partly replaced by electric systems and composite materials were used on a wide scale.  

The B787 was developed to carry a relatively small number of passengers (about 250) nonstop over very long distances. This opens opportunities on a whole range of destinations for which demand is not big enough to justify the use of larger Boeing or Airbus. Because the B787 was specially designed for airports such as Brussels Airport, it is expected that it will become one of the major players in the years to come. The first Belgian Dreamliner will be put into service by Jetairfly, which is currently building a big maintenance hangar at Brussels Airport where the company will provide technical assistance for its own Dreamliner and those of its European partners.

Ethiopian Airlines is one of the largest and most rapidly growing airlines in Africa. It was created in 1946 and has been operating at Brussels Airport since 2006. The airline operates a five weekly service to Addis Ababa, from which it offers smooth onward connections to a wide range of destinations in Africa and the Middle East. Ethiopian Airlines is a member of the Star Alliance and has a fleet of 48 aircraft, including the new Dreamliner.
<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Ethiopian Airlines présente son B787 Dreamliner à Brussels Airport

10 septembre 2012
Ce 10 septembre, un Boeing B787 est visible pour la première fois en Belgique. Ethiopian Airlines, qui dessert Brussels Airport avec habituellement des appareils Boeing B757 et B767, effectue exceptionnellement le vol avec un tout nouveau B787. Le Boeing 787 Dreamliner est un avion commercial développé par le constructeur américain Boeing.

C’est la toute première fois qu’un Boeing B787 atterrit à Bruxelles. Le Dreamliner est assemblé dans les usines Boeing de Everett (Seattle, Washington). Plus de 850 exemplaires du Dreamliner ont été vendus jusqu’à présent à des compagnies aériennes du monde entier. Les premiers de ces appareils ont été mis en exploitation commerciale au cours de ces derniers mois.  

Le Boeing 787 a une autonomie de 14.000 à 16.000 km, plus que la plupart des autres avions. Il consomme nettement moins et est plus écologique que les avions des générations précédentes.  Pour atteindre ces objectifs, Boeing met en oeuvre la nouvelle génération de moteurs (bleedless), une aérodynamique améliorée et une diminution considérable du poids : ainsi, le lourd système hydraulique est remplacé en partie par des systèmes électriques, et des matériaux composites sont utilisés pour la première fois à plus grande échelle.

Le B787 permet de transporter sans escales un nombre relativement plus petit de passagers (environ 250) vers des destinations très lointaines. Ceci ouvre la possibilité de desservir de nombreuses destinations vers lesquelles le potentiel quotidien en passagers au départ de Brussels Airport est insuffisant pour que soient mis en service les gros appareils Boeing et Airbus, nécessaires jusqu’à présent sur ces routes lointaines. Le B787 étant conçu pour répondre aux marchés d’aéroports comme Brussels Airport, on s’attend à ce que cet appareil y soit un acteur important au cours des prochaines années.  Le premier Dreamliner belge sera mis en service fin de l’année prochaine par Jetairfly, qui construit actuellement à Brussels Airport un vaste hangar de maintenance où la compagnie assurera l’assistance technique spécialisée pour son propre Dreamliner et ceux de ses partenaires européens.

Ethiopian Airlines fait partie des compagnies aériennes dont la croissance est parmi les plus importantes et les plus rapides d’Afrique. Elle a été créée en 1946 et dessert Brussels Airport depuis 2006. La compagnie assure une liaison vers Addis Abeba cinq fois par semaine, avec possibilité de transfert aisé vers toute une série de destinations en Afrique et au Moyen-Orient. Ethiopian Airlines est membre du réseau Star Alliance et dispose d’une flotte de 48 avions, dont le nouveau Dreamliner.
<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company