Brussels Airport: runway works in August

June 7, 2012

This summer works will be carried out on runway 07L-25R. These works, which are essential for the safety of air traffic, are compulsory under the international rules Brussels Airport has to comply with. Works are scheduled to start on the 1st of August and will take about two weeks.

Besides the recurrent maintenance works, the shoulders of runway 07L/25R will be thoroughly renovated. The shoulders are the additional paved areas along runways and taxiways provided for the protection of the aircraft and its engines.  The top layer of the shoulders will be removed and replaced. At the same time works will be carried out to the intersection of this runway with two much used taxiways. Finally the runway lighting will be replaced. All these works are carried out simultaneously to limit the duration of the works as much as possible.

During the works the runway will be closed to air traffic. As Brussels Airport has three runways, there are alternatives to reduce the impact on the availability of the airport during this period. Provided the works are planned well and the weather conditions allow for them, the airport is confident that the runway works will not lead to major air traffic delays.

Brussels Airport does its utmost to limit the duration of large-scale works as much as possible. However, the works have to be carried out when the subsoil is dry, precipitation is low and there is a maximum of natural daylight. In our climate the month of August provides the most favourable working conditions.

The impact of the planned works on the runway use will not last the whole month. Works are scheduled to be completed in two weeks, provided the weather conditions are favourable. However, the date of completion of the works may vary if the weather conditions are poor or unexpected complications pop up during the works.  Details on the progress of the works will be available on this website.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: piste en chantier pendant le mois d'août

7 juin 2012

Cet été également, des travaux sont prévus aux pistes de décollage et d'atterrissage de Brussels Airport. La piste concernée cette année est la 07L-25R. Ces travaux, indispensables pour la sécurité du trafic aérien, sont imposés par une réglementation internationale stricte à laquelle Brussels Airport doit se conformer. Les travaux débuteront le 1 août 2012 et auront une durée probable de deux semaines.  

Aux travaux d'entretien réguliers de la piste 07L/25R s'ajoutent cette fois des adaptations importantes aux bas-cotés de la piste. La partie en dur le long de la piste et ses taxiways sera fraisée et une nouvelle couche de roulement sera coulée. Dans le même temps, des travaux seront entrepris au croisement de la piste avec deux taxiways fort fréquentés. Enfin, le balisage d'une partie de la piste sera renouvelé. Ces différents travaux seront exécutés simultanément afin de réduire autant que possible la durée des travaux.  

La piste sera mise hors service pendant la durée des travaux. Etant donné la présence à Brussels Airport de trois pistes d'atterrissage et de décollage, il existe des alternatives permettant d'en limiter l'impact sur la disponibilité opérationnelle de l'aéroport pendant la période concernée. Un bon planning et des conditions atmosphériques favorables devraient éviter que ces travaux entrainent d'importants retards du trafic aérien.  

Brussels Airport s'efforce de limiter strictement la durée des grands travaux d'infrastructure. Sous nos latitudes, le mois d'août offre les conditions atmosphériques les plus favorables pour entreprendre ce type de travaux, qui exigent un sous-sol sec et un minimum de précipitations tout en offrant une durée maximale de lumière de jour.  

L'impact de ces travaux sur l'utilisation des pistes ne sera pas ressenti durant tout le mois d'août. Dans des conditions atmosphériques favorables, deux semaines sont prévues pour les travaux proprement dits, mais la date de fin des travaux peut varier en fonction de la météo et des complications imprévues qui peuvent survenir lors de travaux de cette nature. Les détails concernant le déroulement des travaux sont, comme d'habitude, publiés sur ce site web.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company