Brussels Airport: growth is picking up strongly again in June

July 9, 2012

After the somewhat disappointing growth figures recorded in April and May, passenger numbers are showing strong recovery in June.  Brussels Airport welcomed 1,784,488 passengers last month, an increase of 3.3% on June 2011. This brings the growth rate for the first semester of 2012 to 2.4%.

In spite of the economic situation, especially on the European market, both the number of O&D passengers and the transfer passengers show a positive trend. Transfer traffic, which closely follows the strong development of intercontinental traffic, even grew by 17.7%. As in the previous months, the strongest growth was recorded in the long haul segment, driven partly by Brussels Airlines’ new route to New York and their sixth daily flight to Africa, and in the low cost segment.  

Contrary to the past few months, intra-European and leisure traffic are again showing growth in June. This is partly explained by the fact that this year the first holiday weekend fell in the month of June.

After the negative growth of recent months, the number of aircraft movements too has increased. In June we recorded 20,554 flights, up 0.7%. As usual, the increase in the number of flights is lower than the increase in passenger numbers. This is due to a higher average passenger payload compared to last year and the use of larger planes, particularly by Brussels Airlines.

Cargo did extremely well in June. The cargo volume carried grew in all segments (belly load and full-freighters) resulting in an overall increase of over 8%. Brussels Airport expects its cargo results once more to outperform those of its peer competitors in Europe.

In June, the network served from Brussels Airport was further strengthened by the start of Brussels Ailrines’ operations into New York, the return of Cyprus Airways with 6 weekly services to Larnaca and the launch by Jetairfly of two new destinations in Morocco: Fez and Rabat.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: à nouveau une forte croissance en juin

9 juillet 2012

Après les mois d’avril et de mai assez décevants, les chiffres de fréquentation indiquent pour le mois de juin un net redressement du nombre de passagers. Brussels Airport a accueilli en juin 1.784.488 passagers, une croissance de 3,3 %. Ceci porte le taux de croissance pour le premier semestre 2012 à 2,4%.

Malgré la situation économique qui touche principalement le marché européen, on note une évolution positive tant pour le nombre de passagers O&D que pour les passagers en transfert. Le taux de croissance du transfert, qui va de pair avec un fort développement du trafic intercontinental, se situe même à 17,7%. La croissance la plus forte est enregistrée, comme au cours des mois précédents, au sein du trafic long-courrier, notamment grâce à la nouvelle liaison de Brussels Airlines à destination de New York et d’un sixième vol hebdomadaire vers l’Afrique, et au sein du low cost.

Contrairement aux mois précédents, le segment du trafic intra-européen et celui des vacanciers ont eux aussi connu une reprise de la croissance en juin. Ceci s’explique entre autres par le fait que le pic des départs du premier week-end de vacances se situait, cette année, entièrement en juin.

Après la baisse notée au cours des derniers mois, le nombre de mouvements d’avions s’inscrit également en hausse en juin. Au total, 20.554 vols ont été effectués, soit une croissance de 0,7%. Comme d’habitude, l’augmentation du nombre de vols est moins élevée que la croissance du nombre de passagers, grâce à un meilleur taux d’occupation des avions et à l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands, notamment par Brussels Airlines.

Le fret a connu un excellent mois de juin. Le volume transporté a crû de plus de 8%, tous les segments ayant connu une hausse, le fret à bord de vols passagers comme les vols cargo. Brussels Airport s’attend à ce que cette croissance de l’activité fret se situe à nouveau au dessus de celle de ses principaux concurrents en Europe.

Le réseau au départ de Brussels Airport s’est élargi en juin par, entre autres, le lancement de vols Brussels Airlines sur New York, le retour de Cyprus Airways avec six vols par semaine à destination de Larnaca, et l’ouverture par Jetairfly de deux nouvelles destinations au Maroc: Fez et Rabat.

 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company