Brussels Airport releases first images of the future Connector building

June 22, 2012

Last year Brussels Airport announced its future infrastructure projects for the period 2011-2016. The plans include a few large projects and several smaller projects and involve a total investment of € 460 million.

One of the most striking innovations is the Connector,  a building which is to link the passenger terminal to Pier A above-ground.

Pier A was put into service in May 2002. The pier, which seems to be somewhat isolated on the airport grounds, is to this day considered one of the most comfortable and efficient airport buildings in Europe. However, many passengers consider the existing tunnel from the terminal and the fact that they have to change floors using elevators and escalators a nuisance. Also the fact that it they have to use an underground passage, with no natural daylight, does little to contribute to the image of our airport and country.

That is why the tunnel, which is used by over 10 million passengers every year, will be replaced by a spacious surface building, which for the time being is referred to by its project name “Connector”.

The new Connector will allow passengers to walk straight from the check-in desk to their gate in pier A or B, without changing floors. In the opposite direction, the building will provide the arriving passenger with a smooth and agreeable passage to the baggage reclaim hall and the exit.

The building will include a central platform for access and security screening as well as border control for travellers departing from both Pier A and Pier B. This will considerably increase the efficiency of the screening process, as the peak hours for security in both piers are complementary. Moreover, the building will offer plenty of space for a commercial area.

The conceptual phase and the functional planning of the building were completed end 2011. In August CTHM (Chapman Taylor – bureau Happold – MOSS) was commissioned by Brussels Airport to draw up the building plans.  Click on this link to view the first drawings of the new building. An animated movie is available on here.

This year will be mostly spent on the administrative and operational preparation for the construction of the building, with the actual building work starting early next year. The challenge is huge: the construction site will be located in the centre of a busy international airport, which will remain fully operational throughout the building works without compromising passenger comfort. The building is scheduled to open by the end of 2014.

With the construction of the Connector, the terminal, pier A and pier B will become an unbroken whole, with a central screening platform for passengers and their hand luggage. This will allow for smooth passenger flows, more efficient security screening with shorter queues and an attractive offer of services, shops, bars and restaurants.

“With this major investment in Connector, Brussels Airport is aiming for a breakthrough by 2015 with regard to efficiency, passenger comfort and travel experience”, says Arnaud Feist, CEO of The Brussels Airport Company.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : le futur Connector se dévoile

22 juin 2012

Brussels Airport a présenté l’année dernière ses projets d’infrastructures pour les années 2011 à 2016. Un investissement total de 460 millions d’euros comprend quelques projets d’envergure et de nombreux projets plus petits.

Parmi les grands projets, le “Connector” est un des plus marquants. Il s’agit d’une construction qui reliera, directement et en surface, le bâtiment du terminal à la jetée A.

La jetée A, mise en service en mai 2002, constitue un îlot en plein tarmac. Elle est toujours considérée aujourd’hui comme l’un des bâtiments aéroportuaires les plus confortables et les plus efficaces d’Europe. Pour de nombreux passagers toutefois, le tunnel entre le terminal et la jetée, et la nécessité des déplacements verticaux par escalators ou ascenseurs, sont ressentis comme un inconfort. L’atmosphère confinée du tunnel, en l’absence de lumière du jour, ne favorise pas l’image de l’aéroport ni celle du pays.

C’est pourquoi le tunnel, emprunté annuellement par 10 millions de passagers, sera remplacé par un vaste bâtiment de liaison en surface, dont le projet a été baptisé provisoirement “Connector”.

Grâce au nouveau Connector, le passager pourra depuis le check-in se rendre directement à la porte d’embarquement pour prendre son vol à la jetée A ou la jetée B, en limitant la circulation verticale. Quant aux passagers débarquant à Brussels Airport, ils bénéficieront d’une liaison rapide et attractive vers la salle des bagages et la sortie.

Le bâtiment comprendra une plate-forme où seront centralisés, pour les passagers qui embarqueront de la jetée A comme de la jetée B, les contrôles d’accès, de sûreté et frontalier. Cette centralisation augmentera considérablement l’efficience du processus de screening, étant donné que dans le domaine de la sûreté les heures d’affluence des deux jetées sont complémentaires. En outre, ce bâtiment offrira de vastes espaces pour une zone commerciale.

La phase de conception et le planning fonctionnel du bâtiment ont été réalisés l’année dernière. Brussels Airport a confié en août 2011 au bureau d’architecture CTHM (Chapman Taylor – bureau Happold – MOSS)  l’élaboration des plans de construction. Cliquez ici pour les premières esquisses du nouveau bâtiment. Un film animé est disponible ici.

Cette année sera consacrée principalement à la planification et aux préparatifs administratifs et opérationnels du bâtiment. Les travaux de construction devraient commencer au début de l’année prochaine.  Ce projet représente un défi important, car les travaux de construction se dérouleront au milieu d’un aéroport international en pleine activité. Les opérations aéroportuaires devront se poursuivre et le confort des passagers devra être préservé. La mise en service du nouveau bâtiment est prévue fin 2014.

Grâce à la construction du Connector, le terminal formera bientôt un seul ensemble avec la jetée A et la jetée B, comprenant une plate-forme centralisée pour les contrôles d’accès et de sûreté des passagers et de leurs bagages à main. Avec pour avantages une plus grande fluidité, des contrôles de sûreté plus efficaces, moins de files d’attente, et une offre attractive de services, boutiques, bars et restaurants.

“L’important investissement que représente le Connector doit permettre à Brussels Airport de réaliser à l'horizon 2015 une véritable percée en matière d’efficacité, de confort et d’expérience de voyage de nos passagers”, a souligné Arnaud Feist, CEO de The Brussels Airport Company.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company