Brussels Airport: growth curbed by slacking economy

June 11, 2012

In May Brussels Airport welcomed a total of 1.7 million passengers, up +0.1% on the corresponding month last year. The economic situation is affecting O&D traffic, which was down 2.3% on May 2011. Transfer traffic on the contrary grew by 11.9%. The strongest growth continues to be registered in the long-haul segment. The increase in the number of transfer passengers demonstrates the growing importance of Brussels Airport as hub in the intercontinental Star Alliance network. The last two months the low-cost segment is again growing strongly.
Intra-European traffic registers a slight decrease both in the business and leisure segments. This can be explained in part by the discontinuation of the flights by Blue1 and Royal Jordanian, the bankruptcy of Malev and the continuous strike action at Iberia. These rather disappointing results are in line with the general evolution of traffic at other large European airports.  

The number of aircraft movements decreased by 6%, which in comparison to the number of passengers, indicates an on average improved payload compared to last year and the use of larger aircraft by Brussels Airlines in particular.

Although we register a slight decrease, cargo traffic continues to do well with positive performances in the segment of belly cargo on long-haul passenger flights and in the integrator segment. In these segments, Brussels Airport is outperforming most other airports.

Major new developments were the launch of a three daily low-cost service to Stuttgart by Germanwings and the opening of a first trans-Atlantic route by Brussels Airlines with a direct flight to New York JFK.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: l'économie décevante freine la croissance

11 juin 2012

Brussels Airport a accueilli en mai un total de 1,7 million de passagers, ce qui représente une croissance de 0,1% du trafic passagers. La situation économique pèse sur le trafic O&D qui a clôturé en baisse de 2,3% par rapport au même mois de l'année dernière. Le trafic de transfert par contre s'inscrit en hausse de 11,9%. La croissance la plus importante se situe toujours dans le segment du long-courrier. La bonne progression du trafic de transfert souligne l'importance grandissante de Brussels Airport comme hub au sein du réseau intercontinental de Star Alliance.   Au cours des deux derniers mois, le transport low cost a connu à nouveau une croissance rapide.

Le trafic intra-européen par contre s'inscrit en léger recul, tant pour les voyageurs d'affaires que pour les vacanciers. Ce tassement est alimenté entre autres par l'arrêt des vols de Blue1 et de Royal Jordanian, la faillite de Malev et les actions de grève à répétition chez Iberia. Ces résultats assez décevants sont en ligne avec l'évolution générale du trafic dans d'autres grands aéroports européens.  

Le nombre de mouvements d'avion a baissé de 6%. Mis en perspective par rapport à l'évolution du nombre de passagers, ce résultat indique un meilleur taux d'occupation moyen des avions et une utilisation d'appareils plus grands, notamment par Brussels Airlines.  

Le cargo continue, malgré une faible baisse, à s'inscrire en positif pour le transport de fret à bord des long-courriers passagers et pour le trafic intégrateur. Ces prestations de Brussels Airport sont supérieures à celles de la plupart des autres aéroports.    

Parmi les nouveaux développements marquants, signalons le lancement par Germanwings de trois vols low cost quotidiens à destination de Stuttgart et l'ouverture de la première route transatlantique de Brussels Airlines, qui a inauguré un vol direct à destination de l'aéroport JFK à New York.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company