DHL builds a new logistics center at Brussels Airport

May 8, 2012
  • DHL Global Forwarding bundles air freight activities under one roof at Brucargo West with a total ground territory of 54,000 m²

Brussels, May 8th 2012 - DHL Global Forwarding, the air and ocean freight specialist within Deutsche Post-DHL Group starts building a new logistics center at Brucargo. With a total ground territory of 54,000 m² with 23,000 m² warehouse space, this facility unites DHL Global Forwarding Belgium’s air freight activities under one roof at Brucargo West. DHL Global Forwarding has been based in Brucargo since the cargo area was developed in 1980. This 27 million euro investment shows the decision to settle in the Brussels Airport freight area was the right one.

"DHL Global Forwarding's choice for Brucargo strengthens the status of the cargo area and Brussels Airport as a key employment platform in Belgium. Brussels Airport is our country's second economic driver, providing 20,000 direct and 40,000 indirect jobs. Through this 27 million euro investment in this new logistics platform, DHL Global Forwarding is reinforcing our strategy to focus on the specific logistics needs of our various key industry sectors”, says Jean-Claude Delen, CEO DHL Global Forwarding BeNeLux & France.

Meeting the most stringent air freight safety requirements and complying with the TAPA standards, the new ‘state-of-the-art’ logistics center will be ideally situated in this strategically important region, providing the best infrastructure for DHL Global Forwarding’s air freight activities. The new building provides dedicated areas such as a 1,750m² temperature-controlled area with the highest GDP standards to meet the needs of our life science customers and customers with other particular requirements. In respect to Deutsche Post-DHL's Go Green environmental protection program, this investment represents a green investment for DHL Global Forwarding, involving the deployment of environmental technologies including solar panels installations and water recovery systems.
Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport says:  "We are very pleased that a key partner such as DHL Global Forwarding did choose again for Brucargo and Brussels Airport. The extensive freight capacity available on our many long-haul passenger and freight flights with Brucargo’s unique geographic location are definitely key assets. Today Brucargo houses many important players in the air freight chain including forwarders, road transport companies, handling firms and airlines alongside central and operational services, such as the customs authorities and the Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain. The new direct connection between the E19 high way and Brucargo with its own access and exit system, is crucial for stakeholders such as DHL Global Forwarding seen the intensity of the traffic flows. DHL Global Forwarding's continued presence brings a significant added value."

Despite the difficult financial and economic climate, Jean-Claude Delen is delighted to announce this investment which seals the future of DHL Global Forwarding Belgium at Brucargo.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

DHL construit un nouveau centre logistique à Brussels Airport

8 mai 2012
  • DHL Global Forwarding concentre ses activités de fret aérien à Brucargo West

Bruxelles, le 8 mai 2012 - DHL Global Forwarding qui fait partie du Deutsche Post-DHL Group entreprendra prochainement la construction d’un nouveau site à Brucargo. Elle occupera une surface au sol totale de 54.000 m² et disposera d’un entrepôt de 23.000 m², ce qui lui permettra de concentrer ses activités de fret aérien en un seul et même endroit, en l’occurrence à  Brucargo West. DHL Global Forwarding Belgium est un transitaire de premier plan basé à Brucargo depuis l’aménagement de la zone de fret en 1980. Avec cet investissement de 27 millions d’euros l’entreprise confirme donc son choix initial de s’implanter dans la zone de fret aérien à Brussels Airport.

“Le choix de DHL Global Forwarding en faveur de Brucargo renforce la position de la zone de fret et Brussels Airport comme plateforme essentielle pour l’emploi en Belgique. Brussels Airport est le deuxième moteur économique de notre pays avec 20.000 emplois directs et 40.000 emplois indirects. DHL Global Forwarding réalise un investissement total de 27 millions d’euros dans cette nouvelle plateforme logistique afin de répondre encore mieux aux besoins logistiques actuels et futurs de ses clients des différents secteurs industriels“, dit Jean-Claude Delen, CEO DHL Global Forwarding BeNeLux & France.

Le nouveau centre logistique ‘state-of-the-art’, qui satisfait aux normes de sécurité les plus strictes en matière de fret aérien et aux normes TAPA, est idéalement situé dans cette région stratégiquement importante et offre la meilleure infrastructure pour toutes les activités liées au fret aérien. Le bâtiment abrite notamment des zones spécifiques, dont une zone de 1.750 m² où la température est contrôlée et qui répondra également aux normes GDP les plus strictes. Et ce en appui de notre stratégie pour garantir une qualité de service encore meilleure à nos clients sectoriels qui ont des exigences spécifiques. Dans le respect de la valeur ‘Go Green’ de Deutsche Post-DHL, cela représente un investissement vert pour DHL Global Forwarding qui implique l’utilisation de technologies écologiques dont les panneaux solaires et la récupération d’eau.

Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport : “Nous sommes extrêmement satisfaits qu’un partenaire important tel que DHL Global Forwarding ait de nouveau choisi Brussels Airport et Brucargo. Nous sommes convaincus que notre offre étendue en termes de capacité de fret sur nos nombreux vols passagers et marchandises long courrier et la situation géographique unique de Brucargo ont constitué un atout. Brucargo accueille en effet tous les protagonistes importants de la chaîne de fret aérien : des transitaires, de nombreuses sociétés de transport routier, des sociétés de manutention et des compagnies aériennes côtoient des services centraux et opérationnels notamment de la douane et de l’Agence Fédérale pour la Sécurité de la Chaîne Alimentaire. La nouvelle connexion directe entre l’E19 et Brucargo, qui dispose désormais de son propre complexe de bretelles d’accès et de sorties, est importante pour les acteurs comme DHL Global Forwarding vu le recours fréquent au transport routier. La présence de DHL Global Forwarding nous apporte une valeur ajoutée importante.“

Malgré les circonstances financières et économiques actuelles, Jean-Claude Delen est fier de mener à bien cet investissement pour le futur de DHL Global Forwarding Belgium.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company