Changed traffic situation at arrivals: airport remains easily accessible

May 3, 2012

The Arrivals curb, the area from which passengers can be picked up is to be renovated and adapted for safety and increased passenger comfort, in various steps over the coming years. Following the construction of a safe waiting area in January, a second phase from 7 May will see work begin on the road surface and the concrete structure.

This renovation will include raised pedestrian crossings, wider pavements and additional protective barriers as well as new lighting. These adaptations will contribute to improved safety for pedestrians and an orderly Arrivals curb.

Overnight between 3 and 4 May as well as 4 and 5 May the top layer of asphalt will be removed and this area will be temporarily inaccessible to traffic. Works will commence on 7 May and the Arrivals pick-up area will be closed until Spring 2013 for all vehicles except taxis, emergency vehicles and local traffic.

The airport and all car parks will remain easily accessible by car at all times during this work. Car park users are reminded that it is possible to drive straight into the car park from the access road: this is easier than the indirect route opposite the airport terminal.

To guarantee a smooth and safe flow, traffic will be directed using an adapted signalling system. There will also be a change to the speed limit on the A201, the access road to the airport. This situation will be closely observed and evaluated, in consultation with the federal police. During the work, traffic speed at the airport as well as dropping off at Departures will be closely monitored.

The renovation work will improve both traffic safety and passengers' sense of safety within this covered area. Studies have started to fully review and improve passenger and car flows in this area. Eventually, Brussels Airport aims to develop a low-traffic or traffic-free Arrivals curb, like those already in operation at most of the world's major airports.

The traffic system at Departures will remain unchanged after and during this work.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Circulation automobile modifiée dans la zone des arrivées : l’accès à l’aéroport restera aisé

3 mai 2012

Dans les années à venir, la zone de circulation au niveau des arrivées, où les passagers peuvent être repris, sera rénovée et adaptée aux besoins de sécurité et de confort des passagers. Les travaux se feront en plusieurs étapes. Après l’aménagement d’une zone d’attente sécurisée en janvier, la deuxième phase prévoit des travaux au niveau du sol et de la structure en béton à partir du 7 mai.

Ces travaux englobent notamment la pose de passages cloutés surélevés, de trottoirs plus larges et d’écrans de séparation supplémentaires, ainsi que l’installation d’un nouvel éclairage. Ces adaptations devraient contribuer à améliorer la sécurité des piétons et à offrir une vue plus dégagée sur la zone des arrivées.

Dans les nuits du 3 au 4 mai et du 4 au 5 mai, le revêtement en asphalte sera éliminé et cette zone sera entièrement inaccessible au trafic automobile de manière provisoire. Le 7 mai, les travaux débuteront et le niveau des arrivées sera fermé à tous les véhicules, excepté aux taxis, véhicules des services d’urgence et à la desserte locale, jusqu’au printemps 2013.

Tant l’aéroport que tous les parkings resteront facilement accessibles au trafic automobile pendant toute la durée des travaux. Les usagers du parking seront invités à accéder au parking dès la voie d’accès : l’accès sera ainsi plus aisé que via le détour face au terminal de l’aéroport.

Pour garantir une circulation automobile fluide et sûre, le trafic sera dévié à l’aide d’une signalisation ad hoc. Une limitation de vitesse adaptée sera également appliquée sur l’A201, la voie d’accès à l’aéroport. En accord avec la police fédérale, cette situation sera suivie de près et évaluée. Durant les travaux, la vitesse automobile à l’aéroport et les règles de stationnement au niveau des départs feront l’objet de contrôles soutenus.

Les travaux de rénovation visent à améliorer tant la sécurité routière que la sécurité des passagers au sein de cette zone couverte. À terme, Brussels Airport mise sur une circulation restreinte, voire piétonnière, au niveau des arrivées, à l’image de la plupart des grands aéroports internationaux. La circulation automobile au niveau des départs restera identique pendant et après la durée de ces travaux.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company