Brussels Airport: limited growth in passenger numbers in March

April 6, 2012

In March Brussels Airport welcomed 1,425,683 passengers, up 1.4% on the same month last year. A comparison with 2011 is difficult as this year the spring half-term holidays fell in February whereas last year they fell in March. Moreover, the start of the Easter holidays fell in April.  Despite the limited growth in passenger numbers recorded in March, the overall number of passengers recorded in the first quarter of the year grew by 3.8 %.

The slight growth of the number of O&D passengers (passengers who have Brussels Airport as their originating airport or final destination) is compensated by the strong increase of the number of transfer passengers. In March too, the strongest growth was recorded in the long-haul segment.

The number of aircraft movements continues to decrease, now with as much as 7.3%. This trend is explained by the use of larger aircraft (in particular by Brussels Airlines) and an improved load factor on passenger flights.

Despite the global downward trend in cargo volumes carried, Brussels Airport registered an increase of 6.1% on March 2011. Both freighter and belly cargo did better. Contrary to the general trend, similar growth was registered in February. The number of cargo flights increased by 6.6% whereas the cargo volume carried grew by 7.9%. Belly cargo on passenger aircraft recorded a growth of nearly 2% despite the decrease of the numbers of flights, which indicates an improved aircraft payload.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : croissance limitée du nombre de passagers en mars

6 avril 2012

En mars, Brussels Airport a accueilli 1.425.683 passagers, soit une hausse de 1,4%. Une comparaison avec le même mois de 2011 est difficile étant donné que les vacances de carnaval tombaient en février cette année et en mars l’année passée, tandis que les premiers jours des vacances de Pâques tombaient en avril. Malgré la croissance limitée du nombre de passagers en mars, la croissance pour le premier trimestre de 2012 est de 3,8%.

La croissance limitée du nombre de passagers dits O&D (ayant Brussels Airport comme aéroport d’origine ou de destination finale) est renforcée par la hausse du nombre de passagers en transfert. Tout comme dans les mois précédents, la croissance la plus forte a été enregistrée dans le segment du trafic long courrier.

Le nombre de mouvements continue à baisser en mars, et ce de 7,3 pourcents. Cette tendance est attribuée à l’utilisation d’avions plus grands (notamment chez Brussels Airlines) et d’un meilleur taux d’occupation des vols passagers.

Malgré la tendance négative mondiale dans le volume de fret aérien transporté, Brussels Airport a enregistré une croissance de 6,1% par rapport à mars 2011. Le fret transporté a augmenté tant à bord d’avions tout cargo qu’à bord d’avions passagers. En février une croissance comparable a été notée, contrairement à la tendance générale. Le nombre de vols cargo a augmenté de 6,6% tandis que le volume de fret transporté a connu une croissance de 7,9%. Le transport de fret à bord d’avions passagers a augmenté de presque 2% ce qui indique un meilleur taux de remplissage des avions.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company