Brussels Airport: Passenger numbers up 7.8% in February

March 9, 2012

Traditionally, February is the calmest month of the year in terms of passenger traffic. Still, Brussels Airport welcomed 1,177,512 passengers, an increase of 7.8% on the same month last year. This remarkable growth is partly due to the leap day of 29 February, which has an estimated impact of approximately 3.5%. The number of O&D passengers, passengers who have Brussels Airport as their originating airport or final destination, grew by 5.6%. The number of transfer passengers again recorded a remarkable growth of 22.7%, driven mainly by the activities of Brussels Airlines and the Star Alliance.

The strongest growth was once again recorded in the long-haul segment with Brussels Airlines on Africa, Jet Airways on India and other long-haul carriers. The strong growth in the leisure segment compared to February 2011 is partly explained by the spring half-term holidays, which last year started at the beginning of March.

In spite of the strong growth in passenger and cargo traffic, the number of aircraft movements decreases by 3.2%. This decrease is entirely accounted for by the use of larger aircraft types particularly by Brussels Airlines.

Contrary to the worldwide trend, cargo traffic is doing well at Brussels Airport. Brucargo registers a growth of 6.6%, partly due to a number of windfalls including the leap day and the fact that the Chinese New Year was celebrated in January instead of in February as was the case last year.
The volumes carried by full-freighters in particular are growing strongly (up 8.8%), amongst other things as a result of the additional flights operated by Singapore Airlines Cargo, Saudi Cargo Airlines, Korean Air Cargo and EVA Airways Cargo. The fact that the cargo volumes carried grow more strongly than the number of movements indicates a better aircraft payload. The volume of belly cargo (cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft) remains all but status quo compared to last year.

Traffic figures February 2012

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : Croissance de 7,8 % du nombre de passagers en février

9 mars 2012

Traditionnellement, février est le mois le plus calme de l’année en termes de trafic passagers. Néanmoins Brussels Airport a accueilli 1.177.512 passagers, soit une hausse de 7,8%. Cette croissance remarquable peut être attribuée en partie à l’effet du jour intercalaire, le 29 février, avec un impact estimé de 3,5%. La croissance du nombre de passagers ayant Brussels Airport comme aéroport d’origine ou de destination finale (trafic O&D) est de 5,6%. Avec une croissance de 22,7%, le nombre de passagers en transfert connaît une fois de plus une croissance remarquable grâce aux activités de Brussels Airlines et la Star Alliance.

Le segment enregistrant la croissance la plus forte est de nouveau le trafic long-courrier grâce à Brussels Airlines sur l’Afrique, à Jet Airways sur l’Inde ainsi qu’à d’autres compagnies long-courriers. La forte croissance dans le segment des vols de vacances par rapport à février 2011 s’explique par le fait que, l’année passée, les vacances de carnaval tombaient en mars.

En dépit de la forte croissance du nombre de passagers et des volumes de fret, le nombre de mouvements est en baisse de 3,2%. Cette baisse s’explique entièrement par l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands notamment chez Brussels Airlines.

Contrairement à la tendance mondiale, le trafic cargo à Brussels Airport évolue particulièrement bien. Brucargo enregistre une croissance de 6,6%, ce qui s’explique en partie par un nombre d’aubaines telles le jour intercalaire et le fait que le Nouvel An chinois est tombé en janvier au lieu de février comme l’année passée.

Le volume de fret transporté par des avions tout cargo en particulier a connu une forte hausse (+8,8%), notamment grâce aux vols additionnels de Singapore Airlines Cargo, Saudi Cargo Airlines, Korean Air Cargo et EVA Airways Cargo. Le fait que les volumes de fret transportés connaissent une plus forte croissance que le nombre de mouvements indique un meilleur taux de remplissage des avions.  Le volume de fret transporté à bord des avions passagers s’est quasiment maintenu au même niveau que l’année passée.


Chiffres février 2012


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company