September up 11.9%; strongest growth this year

October 20, 2011

Passengers
In September Brussels Airport handled 1,890,713 passengers, almost as many as in the busy month of August. Passenger numbers were up 11.9% on September last year. The first nine months of the year, passenger numbers grew by 10.9% compared to the same period of 2010 last year. This makes September the strongest growth month of 2011 so far, i.e. leaving aside the exceptional growth figures of April, which were distorted by the impact of last year’s ash cloud events.  
Especially Brussels Airlines is registering remarkable growth, and long-haul in general is doing well. Traffic on holiday destinations continued to grow strongly through September, driven partly by the poor Belgian summer.

Cargo
For the first time since April, the cargo volume shows positive growth (up 4.5%) again. Not only integrator traffic is doing well, but full freighter traffic for the first time this year shows positive growth compared to the corresponding months last year.

Aircraft movements
The number of movements too grew strongly in September (+4.5%) especially with intra-European business traffic resuming after the summer. Still, the number of movements has increased less than the number of passengers, which indicates better load factors and the use of on average larger aircraft than last year.

New destinations
Thai Airways International has announced the start of a three weekly direct service from Brussels Airport to Bangkok as from 17 November. Also in November, Jetairfly will be adding Santo Domingo and Bangkok/Phuket to its network. On 2 October, Air France opened a new route to Nantes and Bordeaux with 11 weekly flights. OLT is to reopen its route from Brussels to Bremen, with two daily flights.

Korean Air has added a fifth weekly cargo flight to Seoul, and aims to increase the frequency to nine flights a week. Singapore Airlines Cargo and Saudi Arabian Airlines too have announced the expansion of their full-cargo operations.

End October will see the launch of a direct daily HST service between the Paris North station and Brussels Airport, operated by Thalys.

 

 

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

11,9% de croissance en septembre, la plus forte de 2011

20 octobre 2011

Passagers
Brussels Airport a accueilli en septembre 1.890.713 passagers, quasi autant qu'au cours du mois d'août fort fréquenté. La croissance du nombre de passagers s'élève à 11,9% par rapport au mois de septembre de l'année dernière, et à 10,9% pour les neuf premiers mois de l'année par rapport à 2010. Le mois de septembre enregistre ainsi la plus forte croissance de 2011 à l'exception du mois d'avril où on avait noté des chiffres exceptionnels en raison du nuage de cendres de l'année dernière.
Brussels Airlines en particulier enregistre une croissance remarquable, et le trafic long courrier dans sa totalité enregistre également un score élevé. La croissance des destinations de vacances s'est poursuivie avec vigueur en septembre, ce qui s'explique en partie par le mauvais temps cet été dans notre pays.

Fret
Pour la première fois depuis le mois d'avril, le volume de fret transporté a retrouvé une croissance positive, en hausse de 4,5%. Le trafic intégrateur n'est pas le seul à évoluer favorablement: le fret transporté à bord d'avions cargo enregistre, pour la première fois cette année, un score positif comparé à l'année dernière.

Mouvements
Le nombre de mouvements, en hausse de 4,5%, fait preuve également d'une forte croissance en septembre, principalement en raison de la reprise des voyages pour affaires après la période de vacances. Cette croissance reste toutefois inférieure à celle du nombre de passagers, ce qui indique un meilleur taux d'occupation des avions et l'utilisation de types d'appareils en moyenne plus grands que l'année dernière.


Nouvelles destinations
Thai Airways International annonce l'ouverture d'une liaison directe entre Brussels Airport et Bangkok avec trois vols par semaine à partir du 17 novembre. Jetairfly ajoute à partir de novembre Santo Domingo et Bangkok/Phuket à ses destinations avec un vol hebdomadaire. Air France a ouvert le 2 octobre une nouvelle route vers Nantes et Bordeaux assurant 11 vols par semaine. OLT rouvre sa liaison directe entre Bruxelles et Brême, effectuant 9 vols par semaine.

Korean Air a ajouté un cinquième vol cargo hebdomadaire à destination de Séoul, avec l'intention à plus long terme de monter à neuf vols hebdomadaires. Singapore Airlines Cargo et Saudi Arabian Airlines ont également annoncé une extension de leurs activités cargo.

Dès la fin octobre, une liaison TGV quotidienne directe sera effectuée en Thalys entre la Gare du Nord à Paris et Brussels Airport.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company