Brussels Airport: passenger numbers up 8.4% in May

June 21, 2011

Passengers
In May Brussels Airport handled over 1.7 million passengers, up 8.4% on the corresponding period in 2010.  Growth is strongest in the intra-European traffic segment, driven in particular by Brussels Airlines (higher load factors and partial fleet renewal with larger aircraft) and other carriers within the Star Alliance. Despite significant growth on most destinations outside Europe, growth in this segment is limited to 2.3% due to the impact of the political upheaval in various countries in Africa and North-Africa. Partly because of this but also because this year’s Whitsun weekend fell in June, leisure traffic is doing less well in May than last year. Transfer traffic increased by a spectacular 42% on last year.

Cargo
Although full-freighter activity dropped due to the disappointing import from China and Asia, this was largely compensated by the integrator segment and the increase of cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft. With 40,900 tonnes carried, cargo volume was down -1,8%.

Aircraft movements
In May Brussels Airport registered 21,560 movements, up 6.8% on the same month last year. The upward trend in the number of movements is a good indicator of ongoing growth.  

New services
As of September 2011 Brussels Airlines adds a two weekly service to Bamako (via Accra) to its network. The number of flights to Abidjan is increased back to three flights a week.
The Czech carrier CSA Czech Airlines will be operating a three weekly service to Bratislava as of end June. Turkish Airlines will be upping the frequency on the Istanbul route from 21 to 24 flights a week. Brussels Airlines increases the number of flights to Moscow from 8 to 10 as of the winter season.

During the summer season capacity on a number of long-haul routes will be increased: larger aircraft on the Philadelphia (B767 US Airways), Washington (B777 United Airlines), Newark (B777 United Airlines and B777 Jet Airways), Montreal (A330 Air Canada) and Mumbai (B777 Jet Airways) routes, increased frequency on the Abu Dhabi route (8/w, Etihad Airways). Jetair announces weekly Bangkok/Phuket flights as from November.

Korean Air added a fourth weekly cargo flight to Seoul. By the winter season the frequency will be gradually increased to nine flights a week.


 

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : croissance de 8,4% du nombre de passagers en mai

21 juin 2011

Passagers
Plus de 1,7 million de passagers ont fait usage de Brussels Airport en mai. Cela représente une croissance de 8,4% par rapport à 2010. Cette croissance est principalement le fruit du trafic intra-européen, en particulier chez Brussels Airlines (un taux d'occupation plus élevé et un renouvellement partiel de la flotte par des appareils plus grands) et d'autres compagnies aériennes au sein de Star Alliance. Malgré une croissance significative sur la plupart des destinations hors Europe, la croissance de ce segment reste limitée à 2,3% en raison de l'impact de troubles politiques en diverses destinations d'Afrique et d'Afrique du Nord. En partie pour les mêmes raisons, mais aussi parce que les congés de Pentecôte ne tombaient pas aux mêmes dates, le trafic des vacanciers s'est inscrit en baisse par rapport au mois de mai 2010. Le nombre des passagers en transfert, par contre, a connu en mai une hausse spectaculaire de 42% par rapport à l'année dernière.

Fret
La baisse du trafic des avions cargo, due à un tassement des importations en provenance de Chine et d'Asie, a été en grande partie compensée par le trafic intégrateur et l'augmentation du volume de fret transporté à bord des avions passagers. Totalisant 40.900 tonnes, le volume de fret s'inscrit en recul de -1,8%.

Mouvements
21.560 mouvements d'avions ont été notés en mai, ce qui représente une hausse de 6,8% par rapport à mai 2010. L'évolution du nombre de mouvements est un bon indicateur de la croissance continue.

Nouveaux vols
A partir du mois de septembre 2011 Brussels Airlines ajoute Bamako (via Accra) à ses destinations, desservie deux fois par semaine. Le nombre de vols vers Abidjan est à nouveau augmenté et porté à trois par semaine.
La compagnie tchèque CSA Czech Airlines dessert Bratislava 3 fois par semaine à partir de fin juin. Turkish Airlines porte son offre à destination d'Istanbul de 21 à 24 vols par semaine à partir du 1 juillet. Brussels Airlines augmente la fréquence de ses vols à destination de Moscou de 8 à 10 à partir de la prochaine saison d'hiver.

Pendant la saison d'été, la capacité est augmentée sur un nombre de liaisons long-courriers: des avions plus grands sur Philadelphie (B767 US Arways), Washington (B777 United Airlines), Newark (B777 United Airlines et B777 Jet Airways), Montréal (A330 Air Canada) et Mumbai (B777 Jet Airways), et des vols plus nombreux sur Abu Dhabi (8 vols/semaine, Etihad Airways). Jetair a annoncé des vols hebdomadaires à destination de Bangkok/Phuket à partir de novembre.

Korean Air a ajouté un quatrième vol cargo hebdomadaire à destination de Séoul. D'ici à la saison d'hiver, la fréquence sera portée à 9 vols par semaine.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company