Brussels Airport: new ground handling licences 2011-2018 announced today

June 8, 2011

Following a careful tendering procedure, the Board of Directors of The Brussels Airport Company today made a decision in principle on the selection of the companies that will provide third-party ground handling services at Brussels Airport in the period of 1 November 2011 until 31 October 2018 within the limited ground handling categories:

1) Ramp handling for passenger aircraft,
2) Ramp handling for full-freighter aircraft,
3) Baggage handling,
4) Freight and mail handling,
5) Catering transport. (*)

This call for tenders for the selection of two ground handlers per category conforms with the implementation of the Royal Decree of 6 November 2010, which governs the access to the ground handling market at Brussels National Airport, in application of Council Directive 96/67/EC.

The handling activities at Brussels Airport for the first four categories are currently and until 31 October 2011 supplied by Aviapartner and Flightcare Belgium. The catering transport services are currently and until 31 October 2011 supplied by Gate Gourmet Belgium and LSG Sky Chefs Belgium.

For the award of the new licences for a period of 7 years, a careful evaluation was made of the selection criteria (reliability of the company, economic and financial strength, expertise), the minimum conditions as well as the award criteria (way of working, price positioning, organisation, business plan). The call for tenders was launched on 19 November 2010 with its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union. The procedure to be followed was approved by the Directorate General for Aviation and was carried out with the support of external procedural and legal experts.

Five candidates submitted a bid for the categories ramp handling for passenger aircraft, ramp handling for full-freighter aircraft, baggage handling and freight and mail handling. Based on the results of the call for tenders the Board of Directors of The Brussels Airport Company decided to award the licence for each of these four categories for the next 7 years to Flightcare Belgium (see annexe) and Swissport (see annexe).

In the catering transport category three candidates submitted a bid. The Board of Directors of The Brussels Airport Company has decided to award the licence for the next 7 years to LSG Sky Chefs Belgium (see annexe) and Gate Gourmet Belgium (see annexe).

Flightcare Belgium will continue its activities in the four categories for which it was awarded a licence for the new period until 2018. The activities of Aviapartner in the limited ground handling categories will end on 31 October 2011. Swissport, which until now was not active at Brussels Airport, is granted the licence to supply handling services in the four limited categories for which it was selected. The two catering companies that currently operate at Brussels Airport, LSG Sky Chefs Belgium and Gate Gourmet Belgium can continue their catering transport activities until 31 October 2018.
As part of this tendering procedure, all candidates have committed themselves in writing to applying collective labour agreement CAO 32bis to protect the rights of the employees. The candidates have committed themselves through a binding company statement to maintaining social peace.

(*) Note: self-handling and the different forms of ground handling within the free categories including check-in, aircraft maintenance, in-flight catering services, de-icing, etc fall outside the scope of this tendering procedure.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : nouvelles licences 2011-2018 pour l'assistance en escale annoncées mercredi

8 juin 2011

A l'issue d'une procédure rigoureuse de sélection, le Conseil d'Administration a pris une décision de principe mercredi concernant le choix des entreprises qui presteront des services d'assistance en escale à Brussels Airport pendant la période du 1 novembre 2011 au 31 octobre 2018. Il s'agit des licences pour les activités d'assistance aux tiers dans les catégories de l’assistance en escale faisant l'objet de limitations:

1) assistance côté pistes aux avions passagers.
2) assistance côté piste aux avions cargo,
3) assistance bagages,
4) transport de fret et de poste
5) transport du catering. (*)

Cette procédure de consultation, visant à désigner par catégorie deux sociétés d'assistance en escale, s'inscrit dans l'exécution de l'Arrêté Royal du 6 novembre 2010 réglementant l'accès au marché de l'assistance en escale à l'aéroport de Bruxelles-National et visant la transposition de la directive européenne 96/67/CE.

Les activités d'assistance en escale pour les quatre premières catégories sont assurées actuellement à Brussels Airport jusqu'au 31 octobre 2011 par Aviapartner et Flightcare Belgium. Les activités pour le transport de catering sont effectuées jusqu'au 31 octobre 2011 par Gate Gourmet Belgium et LSG Sky Chefs Belgium.

L'attribution de ces nouvelles licences pour une période de 7 ans s'est faite sur base d'une évaluation minutieuse des critères de sélection (fiabilité de l'entreprise, moyens économiques et financiers, compétence professionnelle), d'exigences minimales, et des critères d'octroi (mode de fonctionnement, positionnement de prix, organisation, plan d'exploitation). La procédure d’évaluation a débuté le 19 novembre 2010 par la publication au Journal officiel de l'Union Européenne. La procédure a été approuvée par le Directorat Général du Transport Aérien et suivie sur le plan juridique et procédural par des experts externes.

Cinq entreprises se sont portées candidates pour les catégories assistance côté pistes aux avions passagers, assistance côté piste aux avions cargo, assistance bagages et transport de fret et de poste. Le Conseil d'Administration de The Brussels Airport Company a décidé sur base des résultats de la procédure d’évaluation  pour attrivuer la licence dans chacune de ces quatre catégories pour les 7 années à venir à Flightcare Belgium (voir annexe) et Swissport (voir annexe).

Pour la catégorie transport de catering trois entreprises se sont portées candidates. Le Conseil d'Administration de The Brussels Airport Company a décidé de confier la licence pour les 7 années à venir à Gate Gourmet Belgium (voir annexe) et LSG Sky Chefs Belgium (voir annexe).

FlightCare Belgium poursuit ses activités actuelles dans les quatre catégories pour lesquelles sa licence a été attribuée jusqu'en 2018.
Les activités de Aviapartner dans les catégories limitées d'assistance en escale prennent fin au 31 octobre 2011. Swissport, qui n'avait jusqu'à présent pas d'activités à Brussels Airport, obtient la licence pour exercer des activités d'assistance en escale dans les quatre catégories pour lesquelles il a été sélectionné. Les deux sociétés de catering actuelles, LSG Sky Chefs Belgium et Gate Gourmet Belgium, peuvent poursuivre leurs activités jusqu'au 31 octobre 2018.

Dans le cadre de cette procédure d'octroi, tous les candidats se sont engagés par écrit à appliquer la CCT 32 bis prévoyant le maintien des droits des travailleurs. Les candidats se sont engagés par une déclaration d'entreprise contraignante de préserver la paix sociale.

(*) Remarque : l'auto-assistance et les diverses formes d'assistance dans les catégories libres, tels le check-in, la maintenance des avions, la préparation de repas à bord, le dégivrage, etc..., ne font pas l'objet de cette procédure d'octroi.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company