Brussels Airport: passenger numbers up 9.9% in March 2011

April 22, 2011

Passengers
In March 2011 Brussels Airport registered 1.4 million passengers, up 9.9% on the corresponding month in 2010.
In the first half of the month, the leisure segment still suffered from the upheaval in Egypt and Tunisia, but in all other passenger traffic segments strong growth was recorded.  Long-haul traffic continued to record two-digit growth in March. In the first quarter of the year, Brussels Airport handled 227,000 more passengers than last year: a 6.7% increase.

Cargo
In March Brucargo handled 43,742 tonnes of cargo: 12.2% down on the same month of last year. This remarkable decrease can be explained by the fact that the cargo volume recorded in March 2010 was boosted by an exceptionally large charter operation by Korean Air Cargo. Integrator traffic is back on the up since a few months. Cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft continues to record two-digit growth.

Aircraft movements
The number of aircraft movements in March increased by 4.2%, totalling to 19.999.

New services
29 March saw the start of the summer season in aviation, with Belle Air launching a three weekly service to Tirana and Blue Air a two weekly service to Bacau in Romania. As of June Montenegro Airlines is to operate a first ever direct service between Brussels and  Podgorica. As of the summer Adria adds Pristina (2/w) to its network. In June Jetairfly too will be carrying out flights to Tirana and Pristina, (both 2/w). Moreover, as of May this carrier will also start a two weekly service to Porto Santo.

The Swedish airline Skyways will start a direct service to Jönköping (10/w), a first for Brussels Airport. The Spanish airline Air Nostrum/Iberia announces services to Vigo (3/w) and San Sebastian (2/w, and another new destination) as of this summer. Several other airlines have announced an increase of their current flight frequencies.

Capacity on a number of long-haul routes will be increased during the summer season: larger aircraft on the Washington (United Airlines), Newark (United Airlines) and Montreal (Air Canada) routes, increased frequency on the Abu Dhabi route (8/w, Etihad Airways).

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : croissance de 9,9% en mars 2011

22 avril 2011

Passagers
Le nombre de passagers en mars à Brussels Airport s'élève à 1,4 million, en croissance de 9,9%. Au cours de la première quinzaine, le segment des vacanciers a encore subi quelque peu les effets des troubles en Egypte et en Tunisie, mais tous les autres segments du trafic passagers s'inscrivent en forte croissance. Le trafic long-courrier a poursuivi en mars sa croissance à deux chiffres. Au premier trimestre, Brussels Airport a dénombré 227.000 passagers de plus que l'année dernière, une croissance de 6,7%.

Fret
Brucargo a traité en mars 43.742 tonnes de fret aérien, soit 12,2% de moins que l'année dernière. Cette baisse singulière s'explique par le fait que les chiffres de mars 2010 ont été marqués par une opération charter importante et exceptionnelle de Korean Air Cargo.  Le trafic intégrateur est depuis quelques mois à nouveau en hausse et le transport de fret à bord de vols passagers continue lui aussi à enregistrer une croissance à deux chiffres.

Mouvements
Les 19.999 mouvements d'avion notés en mars représentent une croissance de 4,2%.

Nouveaux vols
Le début de la saison d'été en aéronautique, le 29 mars dernier, s'accompagne de plusieurs nouvelles liaisons au départ de Brussels Airport. Tirana est desservie depuis cette nouvelle saison par Belle Air (3 vols/semaine) et Bacau en Roumanie par Blue Air (2 vols/semaine), tandis que Montenegro Airlines relie en direct pour la première fois à partir de juin Bruxelles à Podgorica. A partir de cet été, Adria ajoute la destination de Pristina (2 vols/semaine). Jetairfly ouvre en juin des vols à destination de Tirana et Pristina également (chaque fois 2 vols/semaine), et la compagnie ouvre à partir de mai une liaison vers Porto Santo (2 vols/semaine).

Autre primeur pour Bruxelles, la compagnie suédoise Skyways assure des vols directs vers Jönköping (10 vols/semaine). La compagnie espagnole Air Nostrum/Iberia annonce des vols, à partir de cet été, à destination de Vigo (3 vols/semaine) et de San Sebastian (2 vols/semaine), elle aussi une destination nouvelle. Outre ces nouvelles routes, de nombreuses compagnies opèrent une hausse de fréquences sur des liaisons actuelles.

Pendant la saison d'été, la capacité est augmentée sur un nombre de liaisons long-courriers: des avions plus grands sur Washington (United Airlines), Newark (United Airlines) et Montréal (Air Canada), et des vols plus nombreux sur Abu Dhabi (8 vols/semaine, Etihad Airways).

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company