Brussels Airport: major development plan for the next five years

March 17, 2011

Brussels Airport, 17 March 2011 – Brussels Airport has presented its development plans for the 2011-2016 period and earmarked a budget of 460 million euro. To ensure that the services provided meet the specific needs of passengers and airlines, Brussels Airport is planning to build a new Pier A West, an above-ground link between Pier A and the terminal, a modern business centre within the airport and alterations that will place its freight activities on a stronger footing.
There is no plan to build a separate low cost terminal.


Focus of economic growth
Regular studies of the airport's economic impact, including the one carried out by the National Bank, have stressed the importance of Brussels Airport as a second focus of growth in the national economy, after the port of Antwerp. The 260 companies operating there currently employ 21,000 staff. The number of indirect and second-line jobs outside the airport is additionally estimated to be 40,000, so that the airport now generates an income for approximately 61,000 families.
The large and growing network of 235 direct intercontinental (90) and European (145) passenger and cargo destinations strengthens Belgium's position in international trade and encourages inward investment by foreign companies and international organisations in Belgium, promotes tourism in Belgium and supports Belgian companies operating in the furthest corners of the world. An airport offering high performance and sustainability also enhances the attractiveness and effectiveness of Brussels as the Capital of Europe.

A vision for 2016
In 2010 Brussels Airport engaged in detailed negotiations over more than 6 months with airlines and air transport organisations such as AOC and BATA on the airport's plans for the future and on a new structure for charges. The airport wishes to emphasise the historic nature of the resulting agreement, which is supported almost unanimously by the airlines that carry passengers and freight via Brussels Airport.
To support the 460 million euro development plan the airport has negotiated a limited increase in its airport charges in excess of the consumer price index.
The proposed plans for the future will offer greater convenience for passengers. This will result in shorter walking distances, allow travellers to transit more smoothly through airport security and reduce the need to use escalators and lifts. Of the dozens of large and smaller projects being planned for the next five years, these are the most notable.

Pier A West
The airport currently has two 660 metre piers for passenger boarding, offering a total of 54 gate positions for aircraft parking.
From 2015 the number of gates will be increased by extending Pier A westwards. The additional gates at Pier A West will allow direct boarding for a larger number of flights. As a result fewer flights will be boarded using buses, aircraft steps and on-foot boarding exposed to the elements. Pier A West will allow airlines to concentrate their hub activity largely within the same zone. This will mean that using Brussels Airport reduces walking distances for passengers transferring between flights.

Connector
To transit between the terminal building and Pier A and the future Pier A West, passengers will use a new above-ground link that will replace the existing escalators, lifts and tunnel. The new link building which is currently referred to by the project name "connector" will be a light, spacious area allowing rapid and easy transit and offering views of the aircraft and airport activities. The building will offer plenty of space for a new commercial zone and security controls allowing passengers to be screened more quickly and comfortably. The building is scheduled to open in 2014.

Low Cost
One important aspect of the new strategy proposed by The Brussels Airport Company is the decision to continue to integrate the development of low cost activities within the existing airport infrastructure. The development plan therefore does not include a separate low cost terminal. As a result there will also be no differentiated charges for low cost activities.
This certainly does not mean that the airport is seeking to reduce the low cost offering at Brussels Airport. Quite the opposite. Brussels Airport aims to combine the quality benefits of an international airport and the wide choice of direct destinations with the attractive prices available both from low cost airlines and from most full service carriers.

Brucargo
The cargo airport is one of the largest in Europe, and currently directly provides 6,000 jobs. In view of the strategic importance of its cargo activities, Brussels Airport decided in 2010 to make Brucargo a separate Business Unit. The future plans include some major changes to the existing cargo areas. There are also plans for an additional cargo building at Brucargo West, following the example of the 30,000 m² Brucargo West 1 building (six football fields), that was opened in 2009. Other alterations will prepare the airport for the use of larger, quieter Boeing-747-8F aircraft and improve cargo transit between the warehouses and the aircraft. Work is being done by the Flemish Government to improve transport links to Brucargo. From early 2012 the building of a viaduct over the Haachtstesteenweg and new access roads will provide an uninterrupted route between the E19 motorway and Brucargo with no crossroads or traffic lights.

Gateway Business Centre
Brussels Airport has decided together with its potential investing partners to redevelop the administrative building in the former terminal. The so-called Gateway concept involves building a contemporary business centre at the heart of the airport, which is probably the most efficient multimodal platform for such a project anywhere in Belgium. The former administrative offices, housed in an eight-storey U-shaped complex of buildings dating from 1957, are being reborn as a contemporary international working environment with room for 1600 workers. Sustainability is an important factor in the decision to choose this brownfield approach – it involves renewing older buildings rather than erecting new ones.

Promising prospects
"After two difficult years due to the economic and financial crisis, we have seen a clear recovery in air traffic since the fourth quarter of 2010. The prospects for the next few years are very encouraging", concludes Arnaud Feist. "Brussels Airport has worked out a major development plan in consultation with the airlines that will allow the airport to offer a better air travel product to its passengers and airlines, placing it in a stronger international position than ever before. The benefits will be seen not only by Brussels Airport but also by the airlines and our economy as a whole in the years ahead".

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: important plan de développement pour les 5 ans à venir

17 mars 2011

Brussels Airport, le 17 mars 2011 – Brussels Airport a présenté son plan de développement pour la période 2011-2016 pour lequel une enveloppe de 460 millions d'euros est prévue. Afin d'accorder ses services aux besoins spécifiques des passagers et des compagnies aériennes, Brussels Airport prévoit, entre autres, la construction d'une nouvelle Jetée A Ouest, une connexion en surface entre le terminal et la jetée A, un centre d'affaires moderne au cœur même de l'aéroport et des travaux d'aménagement visant à renforcer l'ancrage de son activité de fret.
L’aéroport ne prévoit pas de construire un terminal distinct pour le low cost


Pôle de croissance économique
Des études sur l'impact économique de l'aéroport, menées régulièrement notamment par la Banque Nationale, mettent en exergue l'importance économique de Brussels Airport en tant que deuxième pôle de croissance pour l'économie nationale, après le port d'Anvers. Actuellement, les 260 entreprises qui y développent leurs activités fournissent un emploi à 21.000 personnes. Les nombre d'emplois indirects et induits est estimé à 40.000, de sorte que l'aéroport assure actuellement un revenu à 61.000 ménages.
Son vaste réseau, toujours en croissance, comptant au total 235 destinations directes intercontinentales (90) et européennes (145) pour les passagers et le fret, favorise la position commerciale internationale de la Belgique, l'implantation dans notre pays d'entreprises étrangères et d'organisations internationales, le tourisme entrant et l'activité des entreprises belges jusque dans les recoins les plus lointains du globe. La présence d'un aéroport performant et durable stimule l'attractivité et l'efficacité de Bruxelles en tant que capitale de l'Europe.

Une vision pour 2016
En 2010 Brussels Airport a mené pendant plus de 6 mois des négociations approfondies avec les compagnies aériennes et les organisations du secteur, telles AOC et BATA, sur l'avenir de l'aéroport et la nouvelle structure tarifaire. L'aéroport souligne le caractère historique de l'accord qui en a découlé, accord soutenu à la quasi unanimité par les compagnies aériennes transportant des passagers et du fret via Brussels Airport.
Pour soutenir ce plan de développement de 460 millions d'euros, l'aéroport a négocié une hausse limitée des tarifs aéroportuaires au-delà de l'indice à la consommation.
Pour le passager, le plan d'avenir vise principalement un confort accru. Ce qui se traduit entre autres par un raccourcissement des distances à parcourir, une meilleure fluidité aux contrôles de sûreté et une réduction des déplacements verticaux par escalators et ascenseurs. Ce sont là les éléments les plus marquants parmi les dizaines de petits et grands projets envisagés pour les cinq années à venir.

Jetée A Ouest
Pour l'embarquement des passagers, l'aéroport dispose à l'heure actuelle d'un total de 54 positions de parking pour avions le long de deux jetées de 660 mètres chacune.
Le nombre de portes d'embarquement sera augmenté à partir de 2015 grâce à l'extension de la jetée A vers l'ouest. Les gates supplémentaires de la jetée A permettront à un plus grand nombre de vols de procéder à un embarquement depuis la jetée, évitant ainsi l'utilisation de bus et d'escaliers, ainsi que des déplacements à pied sur le tarmac par tous les temps. Grâce à la jetée A Ouest, les compagnies aériennes pourront concentrer leur activité de hub en grande partie dans une même zone, réduisant ainsi les distances à parcourir à pied par les passagers en transfert à Brussels Airport.

Connector
Pour passer du terminal vers la jetée A et la future jetée A Ouest, les passagers pourront emprunter une nouvelle passerelle en surface plutôt que le passage par les escalators, les ascenseurs et le tunnel actuels. La nouvelle passerelle, qui répond provisoirement au nom de projet "connector", sera très lumineuse et spacieuse, favorisant un déplacement aisé et rapide, avec vue sur les avions et les activités aéroportuaires. La construction fera la part belle à une nouvelle zone commerciale et inclura des contrôles de sûreté permettant de fouiller les passagers plus rapidement et plus confortablement. La mise en service est prévue en 2014.

Low Cost
Un élément important de la nouvelle stratégie présentée par The Brussels Airport Company est la décision de continuer à intégrer le développement du low cost à l'aéroport au sein de l'infrastructure aéroportuaire générale. Le plan de développement ne prévoit donc pas de terminal low cost distinct. Par conséquent, il n'y a pas lieu d'appliquer de tarif différencié pour les activités low cost.
Cela ne signifie nullement que l'aéroport viserait une diminution de l'offre à bas prix au départ de Brussels Airport. Bien au contraire. Brussels Airport entend continuer à combiner les avantages qualitatifs d'un aéroport international et son vaste choix de destinations directes aux tarifs serrés proposés tant par les compagnies low cost que par la plupart des compagnies offrant un service complet.

Brucargo
L'aéroport de fret compte parmi les plus importants d'Europe et représente actuellement 6.000 emplois. Etant donné l'importance stratégique de son activité cargo, Brussels Airport a décidé en 2010 de faire de Brucargo une Business Unit à part. Les plans d'avenir incluent d'importantes adaptations dans la zone de fret. En outre, un bâtiment supplémentaire est prévu à Brucargo Ouest, à l'image du bâtiment Brucargo Ouest 1 d'une superficie de 30.000m² (six terrains de foot) qui a été mis en service en 2009. D'autres travaux d'aménagement visent à adapter l'aéroport à l'accueil du Boeing 747-8F, plus volumineux et plus silencieux, et à une meilleure circulation des marchandises entre les hangars et l'avion. Les autorités régionales flamandes, quant à elles, ont entamé des travaux qui permettront un meilleur désenclavement de Brucargo. La construction d'un viaduc enjambant la chaussée de Haecht, ainsi que de nouvelles routes d'accès, garantissent dès le début 2012 une liaison directe entre l'autoroute E19 et Brucargo, sans carrefours ni feux.


Centre d'affaires Gateway
Brussels Airport a décidé de redévelopper, en partenariat avec des investisseurs potentiels, le bâtiment administratif de l'ancien terminal. Le concept, dénommé Gateway, prévoit l'aménagement d'un centre d'affaires moderne au cœur même de l'aéroport: de ce fait vraisemblablement la plate-forme multimodale la plus efficace du pays. Les anciens bureaux administratifs, situés dans un complexe de bâtiments en U haut de huit étages et datant de 1957, renaîtront sous la forme d'un environnement de travail contemporain et international pouvant héberger 1600 collaborateurs. L'aspect durable est un argument important dans le choix de cette approche brownfield: la rénovation d'anciens bâtiments plutôt que la construction de neuf.

Perspectives prometteuses
“Après deux années difficiles en raison de la crise économique et financière, nous constatons une nette reprise du trafic aérien depuis le quatrième trimestre de 2010. Les perspectives pour les années à venir sont très encourageantes.” conclut Arnaud Feist. “Brussels Airport a élaboré en concertation étroite avec les compagnies aériennes un important plan de développement qui permettra à l'aéroport d'offrir un meilleur produit aéronautique à ses passagers et ses compagnies aériennes et d'occuper une position internationale plus forte que jamais auparavant. Brussels Airport, mais aussi les compagnies aériennes et l'ensemble de notre économie, en récolteront les bénéfices au cours de prochaines années”.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company