Brussels Airport launches new website

March 15, 2011

Brussels Airport, 15 March 2011 – Since 1995 the airport website www.brusselsairport.be is one of the most visited professional websites in our country.  If you enter the well-known address today, you will discover a completely renewed site.

The flight information on the website is the same as the information on direct flights the traveler sees on the flight information board in the departures hall supplemented with the indirect flights and other useful information. To collect the information on direct and indirect flights, shown on a map of the world or of Europe, Brussels Airport works together with the British flight information specialist OAG.

The jobs pages, introduced in 2001 to help the many former Sabena employees find another job, offer an exhaustive overview of airport-related job vacancies. These pages are visited an average of 1,000 times a day. For the new website Brussels Airport has extended the possibilities of this service by bringing in an external Belgian partner CVWarehouse.  

As before, the website offers online booking facilities for air tickets, hotel accommodation or car rental. For this Brussels Airport again collaborates with Connections.

Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport, comments on the importance of these changes: "Our major challenge was to simplify the navigation and organize the large amount of information available on the website in a clear structure. Moreover we have integrated an improved search engine. On peak moments, such as last year with the ash cloud or in case of heavy snowfall, we record over one million page requests a day. That is why the new website had to be much lighter and much faster without reducing the available information."

Apart from the simplified menu structure the site provides a new search engine. The passenger will find an answer to the most frequently asked questions in a constantly evolving FAQ. The accuracy of the site’s content is checked every month with the various commercial and operational services at the airport.
The new airport website also contains a blog section, which gives you an idea of life at the airport both in front of and behind the screens. Bits of news on this blog will be linked to the social media platforms in which the airport is actively participating since last year.  

"Interactive digital media and aviation are a good match ", says Johan Bockstaele, Online Media Manager. "A growing number of passengers use their smartphones and tablets to communicate from the airport itself. Young passengers increasingly follow us on Facebook, the dialogue with our business passengers mainly passes through Twitter.  At first sight social media may seem to be about fun, but in crises situations they have proved to be a remarkably efficient communication tool. Just think of airport accessibility problems, cancelled flights or baggage handling problems". During the period of heavy snowfall in December the number of users peaked.
The airport is also actively present on LinkedIn and Flickr. On location-bases apps such as Foursquare and Gowalla Brussels Airport has become the most visited place in the country.  Replies to questions and suggestions received through the different social media platforms will be used as a basis to supplement the content on the website thus making the answers available to other passengers.

This new website is the fourth generation, four point nought. Contrary to the previous version, the new website was designed and programmed in house by The Brussels Airport Company. Moreover the website is hosted by the airport’s own high-performance server platform.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport présente son nouveau site internet

15 mars 2011

Brussels Airport, le 15 mars 2011 - Le site internet de l'aéroport www.brusselsairport.be est depuis1995 un des sites professionnels les plus consultés du pays. En tapant cette adresse connue, vous découvrirez dès aujourd'hui que le site a fait entièrement peau neuve.

Le site publie l'information concernant les vols directs au départ et à l'arrivée de la même manière que sur les tableaux d'affichage dans l'aéroport. Le site y ajoute des informations concernant les destinations nécessitant une correspondance ainsi que d'autres informations utiles. Pour les horaires, présentés sur une carte du monde ou d'Europe, Brussels Airport collabore avec OAG, le spécialiste britannique en matière d'information de vol.

Les pages d'offres d'emplois, initiées en 2001 pour donner un coup de pouce aux nombreux anciens de Sabena , proposent le plus large aperçu d'offres d'emploi dans le domaine aéronautique. Elles sont consultées 1.000 fois par jour en moyenne. Le nouveau site de Brussels Airport élargit encore les possibilités de ce service grâce à la collaboration du partenaire externe belge cv-warehouse.

Tout comme par le passé, le nouveau site propose également des billets d'avion, des hôtels et la location de voitures. Dans ce domaine, Brussels Airport collabore à nouveau avec Connections.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport, souligne l'importance de ces modifications: "Notre principal défi était d'apporter dans cette multitude d'informations une navigation plus astucieuse et un aperçu plus clair, notamment par une fonction de recherche améliorée. En périodes de pointe, par exemple l'année dernière lors du nuage de poussière volcanique ou dans le cas de fortes chutes de neige, on dénombrait sur notre site jusqu'à un million de pages visitées par jour. C'est pourquoi il était nécessaire de rendre le nouveau site beaucoup plus léger et rapide, sans pour autant limiter l'offre d'informations".

Le site propose donc une structure de menu simplifiée et un nouveau système de recherche. Dans un chapitre FAQ en permanente évolution, les passagers trouvent réponse aux questions les plus souvent posées. Le contenu du site est vérifié tous les mois auprès des divers services commerciaux et opérationnels de l'aéroport.
Le nouveau site internet de l'aéroport comporte également un blog fournissant des informations sur la vie au jour le jour à Brussels Airport, y compris sur les événements en coulisses. Les nouvelles de ce blog sont dorénavant également incluses dans les différents médias sociaux, dont l'aéroport fait largement usage depuis l'année dernière.

"Les médias digitaux interactifs et l'aviation font bon ménage" déclare Johan Bockstaele, Online Media Manager. "De plus en plus de passagers communiquent depuis l'aéroport à l'aide de smartphones et de tablettes. Les passagers plus jeunes sont nombreux à nous suivre sur Facebook, tandis que le dialogue avec nos passagers hommes d'affaires se déroule plutôt via Twitter. Les médias sociaux semblent à première vue très fun, mais en temps de crise ils se révèlent des outils de communication d'une efficacité stupéfiante. Il suffit de penser à des problèmes d'accessibilité de l'aéroport, d'annulation de vols ou de bagages retardés".
Le nombre d'utilisateurs a connu un pic lors des intempéries de décembre. L'aéroport est également activement présent sur LinkedIn et Flickr. Brussels Airport est devenu le lieu le plus visité du pays sur les applications de géolocalisation comme 4square et Gowalla.  Les questions et suggestions qui parviennent via les réseaux sociaux font bien sûr l'objet d'une réponse à l'expéditeur, mais sont tout autant une base permettant de compléter et de préciser le contenu du site internet à l'attention de l'ensemble des passagers.

Le site web en est actuellement à sa quatrième génération, quatre point zéro. Contrairement à la version précédente du site, l'actuelle a été conçue et programmée entièrement en interne par The Brussels Airport Company. L'hébergement du site se fait également sur un serveur performant, propre à l'aéroport.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company