Brussels Airport ready for the new 747-8F

March 1, 2011

Brussels Airport, March 1st, 2011 - Brussels Airport was officially certified as a Boeing 747-8F compatible airport by the Directoraat-Generaal Luchtvaart, the Belgian Civil Aviation Authority.

For many decades the 747 full-freighter has been the most widely used cargo aircraft for intercontinental traffic. At Brussels Airport too, many cargo airlines use this type of aircraft. The 747-8F is the latest version of this cargo plane. The first plane of this type rolled off the production line only last year. The design of the new plane is based on the state-of-the-art technology developed for the Boeing 787.

With a length of 76.3 meters, the new Boeing 747-8F is 5.6 meters longer than its predecessors in the 747 family. Its wingspan of 68.4 meters exceeds the 747-400's by 4 meter. Since last week Brussels Airport is officially certified as "747-8F ready".

Despite the impressive payload of 140 metric tonnes (154 tonnes) fuel consumption is cut by 16% making the aircraft eco-friendlier. The use of new generation engines and materials and the improved design also make this new Jumbo quieter than its predecessors.

Currently the new Boeing full-freighter is going through an elaborate test program. The first commercial delivery of the plane is expected by the end of the year. As a few of Brussels Airport's major cargo customers, Korean Air Lines (South Korea) and Cathay Pacific (Hong Kong), are among the first to be adding the 747-8 to their fleet, Brussels Airport will probably be one of the first in the world where the new cargo jumbo is to be spotted on a regular basis.

Other new generation full-freighters too are finding their way to Brussels Airport. At the end of 2010 Aerologic started operating flights using a Boeing 777F and Hong Kong Airlines announced its intention to start operations to Brussels later this year using an Airbus 330F.  These planes too achieve better fuel economy, are quieter and provide better performance than their predecessors

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport prêt à recevoir le nouveau 747-8F

1 mars 2011

Brussels Airport, le 1er mars 2011 - Brussels Airport a été reconnu, par le Directorat Général au Transport Aérien, apte à recevoir le nouveau Boeing 747-8F transporteur de fret.

Le 747 en version cargo est, depuis de nombreuses décennies, l'appareil le plus utilisé de par le monde pour le transport aérien intercontinental de fret. A Brussels Airport également, de nombreuses compagnies aériennes utilisent ce type d'appareil. Le 747-8F est la version la plus récente de cet avion cargo. Le premier exemplaire a quitté la linge de production l'année dernière. L'avion incorpore les technologies nouvelles développées pour le Boeing 787.

Le nouveau Boeing 747-8F mesure 76,3 mètres de long, soit 5,6 mètres de plus que son prédécesseur dans la famille des 747. Son envergure de 68,4 mètres est également supérieure de quatre mètres au 747-400. Depuis la semaine dernière, Brussels Airport est officiellement certifié pour cet appareil plus volumineux.

Malgré sa charge utile impressionnante de 140 tonnes métriques (154 tonnes), l'avion permet une économie de carburant de 16% par rapport à la version antérieure, ce qui réduit son empreinte environnementale. L'utilisation de moteurs de la nouvelle génération, de même qu'un design et des matériaux adaptés en font aussi un avion plus silencieux.

Ce nouvel avion fait actuellement l'objet de tests approfondis au sein de Boeing. Les premiers appareils destinés à l'exploitation commerciale devraient être livrés vers la fin de l'année. Quelques-uns des clients importants de Brussels Airport dans le domaine du fret, Korean Air (Corée du Sud) et Cathay Pacific (Hong Kong), figurent parmi les premiers à inclure le 747-8F dans leur flotte, de sorte que Bruxelles sera sans doute un des premiers aéroports au monde à accueillir régulièrement le nouveau jumbo.

D'autres avions cargo de la nouvelle génération atterrissent également régulièrement à Brussels Airport. Depuis la fin de l'année dernière, Aerologic effectue des vols en Boeing 777F transporteur de fret, tandis que Hong Kong Airlines a dit son intention d'assurer des vols vers Bruxelles en Airbus 330F dans le courant de l'année. Tout comme le nouveau 747-8F, ces appareils consomment moins, sont plus silencieux et plus performants que leurs prédécesseurs.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company