The new tariff structure

January 13, 2011

Brussels Airport, January 13, 2011 - Today the Board of Directors of The Brussels Airport Company acknowledged the decision of State Secretary for Mobility, Etienne Schouppe, on the new airport tariffs for the coming five year period, from April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2016.

The airport tariffs proposed by Brussels Airport were the result of detailed consultations that took place between Brussels Airport and its airlines customers. The final negotiated proposal that was submitted to the Regulatory Service was supported by airlines representing over 90% of the passengers and cargo flying from Brussels Airport, and included a package of strategic investments. On December 14, 2010, the Regulatory Service announced its decision not to accept the final negotiated proposal. This unilateral decision compromised the planned development of airport operations, passenger facilities and service quality at Brussels Airport.

Following further discussions and investigation, Secretary of State Schouppe has decided to approve a yearly base tariff increase of CPI + 0.40%. These tariffs will be further raised over the period 2011-2016 by an annual average increase equivalent to 0.28% (in total CPI+0.68%) on the basis of investments in several development projects. As previously agreed with the airlines a specific tariff increase will be implemented during the period for the investment in Pier A West.

Brussels Airport's tariffs remain thereby very competitive and below the average of its peers.

The Board of Brussels Airport welcomes the final decision on the airport tariffs from the Secretary of State. This makes possible a further increase in the quality of the services to the passengers and the development of some landmark projects such as a connector building between Pier A and the terminal, the extension of the zone dedicated to the Africa flights and the extension of Pier A to the West.

The proposed investments within the coming five year period are key to the development potential of Belgian aviation in the medium to long term, and crucial for the future of Brussels Airlines - and the Star Alliance they recently became a member of - at Brussels Airport. Belgian companies like JetairFly, Thomas Cook Airlines and Brussels Airlines will continue to find the support of a competitive and efficient home airport to operate from.

"We would like to express our appreciation to the airline associations BATA, AOC and ACMAB, for their constructive cooperation during the tariff consultation process. This new tariff package will indeed contribute to the further development of direct passenger and freight connections between Belgium and the rest of the world, and create many new job opportunities at and around the airport, as well as throughout the country", concludes Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

La nouvelle structure tarifaire

13 janvier 2011

Brussels Airport, le 13 janvier 2011 - Le Conseil d'Administration de The Brussels Airport Company a pris acte jeudi de la décision du Secrétaire d'Etat à la Mobilité, Etienne Schouppe, relative aux nouveaux tarifs aéroportuaires qui seront d'application pour la prochaine période de cinq ans, du 1 avril 2011 ai 31 mars 2016.

Les tarifs aéroportuaires proposés par Brussels Airport étaient le résultat de consultations approfondies entre Brussels Airport et ses compagnies aériennes clientes. La proposition finale et négociée, qui a été soumise au Service de Régulation, était soutenue par les compagnies aériennes représentant plus de 90% des passagers et du cargo décollant de Brussels Airport, et comprenait un ensemble d'investissements stratégiques. Le 14 décembre 2010, le Service de Régulation annonçait qu'il n'acceptait pas la proposition finale négociée. Cette décision unilatérale portait atteinte au développement envisagé pour les opérations aéroportuaires, les installations pour les passagers et pour la qualité du service à Brussels Airport.

Après de nouvelles discussions et examen de la question, le Secrétaire d'Etat Etienne Schouppe a décidé d'approuver une augmentation annuelle de la base tarifaire de + 0,40% au-delà de l'indice des prix à la consommation. Ces tarifs connaitront par ailleurs pendant la période 2011-2016 une hausse annuelle moyenne équivalente à 0,28% (au total l'index + 0,68%) sur la base d'investissements dans différents projets de développement. Comme convenu précédemment avec les compagnies aériennes, une augmentation de tarif spécifique sera appliquée pendant la période pour l'investissement dans la jetée A Ouest.

Les tarifs de Brussels Airport se maintiennent ainsi à un niveau très compétitifs et en-dessous de la moyenne des aéroports comparables.

Le Conseil d'Administration se réjouit de la décision finale relative aux tarifs aéroportuaires prise par le Secrétaire d'Etat. Ceci permet d'augmenter la qualité des services offerts aux passagers ainsi que le développement de certains projets d'importance tels la construction d'une connexion entre le bâtiment du terminal et la jetée A, l'extension de la zone dédiée aux vols africains et l'extension de la jetée A vers l'ouest.

Les investissements proposés pour les cinq prochaines années sont essentiels pour le potentiel de développement de l'aviation belge à moyen terme, et cruciaux pour le futur de Brussels Airlines - et de Star Alliance à laquelle elle a récemment adhéré- à Brussels Airport. Des compagnies belges telles JetairFly, Thomas Cook Airlines et Brussels Airlines continueront à bénéficier du support d'un aéroport d'attache compétitif et efficace, d'où elles peuvent opérer.

"Nous souhaitons exprimer notre appréciation à l'égard des associations de compagnies aériennes BATA, AOC et ACMAB pour leur coopération constructive pendant le processus de consultation tarifaire. Ce nouveau package tarifaire contribuera réellement au développement de liaisons directes pour passagers et fret entre la Belgique et le reste du monde. Il permettra ainsi de créer de nombreux emplois nouveaux tant à l'aéroport et ses environs que dans le reste du pays", a conclu Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company