Passenger figures up 8.3% in January 2011

February 21, 2011

Passengers
In January 2011 Brussels Airport handled over 1.1 million passengers, an increase of 8.3% on January last year. Growth is recorded in all segments. Brussels Airlines registered excellent results in January, on its intra-European flights as well as on its Africa network.   Leisure traffic grew only slightly because of the situation in holiday destinations such as Tunisia and Egypt. The strong growth in the low cost segment was mainly driven by easyJet. Transfer traffic was up 16%.

Cargo
In January Brucargo handled 36,591 tonnes of air cargo, an increase of 1.5% on January 2010. Cargo carried on board of passenger airlines recorded the strongest growth whereas integrator traffic was slightly down on pcp. Full-freighter traffic remained slightly below the result of January 2010, when Brussels Airport handled several extra cargo charter flights.

Aircraft movements
Brussels Airport recorded 17,358 aircraft movements in January, up 4.1% on January 2010.  

New services
At the end of January Qatar Airways started operating a direct service to Doha (5/w). Early February easyJet added Liverpool to its network (6/w). As of the new summer season Belle Air will operate a three weekly service to Tirana. Blue Air will start a two weekly service to Bacau in Romania and Montenegro Airlines is to open a direct service between Brussels and Podgorica, a route which never before was operated from Brussels. In June Jetairfly also starts operating flights to Tirana and Pristina, (both 2/w). The Swedish airline Skyways will start a direct service to Jönköping (10/w), a first for Brussels Airport. The Spanish airline Air Nostrum/Iberia announces services to Vigo (3/w) and San Sebastian (2/w, and another new destination) as of this summer. Several other airlines have announced an increase of their current flight frequencies.

Capacity on a number of long-haul routes will be increased during the summer season: larger aircraft on the Washington (United Airlines), Newark (United Airlines) and Montreal (Air Canada) routes, increased frequency on the Abu Dhabi route (8/w, Etihad Airways).

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

8,3% de passagers en plus en janvier 2011

21 février 2011

Passagers
Brussels Airport a accueilli en janvier 2011 plus d'1,1 million de passagers, une hausse de 8,3% par rapport au même mois de l'année dernière. La croissance se situe dans tous les segments. L'augmentation du trafic de loisirs est modeste en raison de la situation dans certains pays de destination, comme la Tunisie et l'Egypte. Le low cost a connu une forte hausse, principalement chez easyJet. Brussels Airlines a pour sa part noté un excellent mois de janvier, tant pour le trafic intra-européen que sur son réseau africain. Quant au trafic de transfert, il s'inscrit en hausse de 16%.

Fret
Brucargo a traité en janvier 36.591 tonnes de fret aérien, une croissance de 1,5%. Le transport de fret à bord des avions passagers a connu la plus forte hausse, tandis que le trafic intégrateur s'inscrivait en léger recul. Le transport de fret à bord d'avions cargo est en diminution par rapport à janvier 2010, mois au cours duquel de nombreux vols charter avaient été affrétés pour le cargo.

Mouvements
Les 17,358 mouvements d'aéronefs enregistrés en janvier représentent une croissance de 4,1%.

Nouveaux vols
Qatar Airways a lancé en janvier une liaison directe vers Doha (5 vols/semaine). Début février, easyJet a ajouté à son programme un vol direct à destination de Liverpool (6 vols/semaine). Tirana est desservie à partir de la saison d'été par Belle Air (3 vols/semaine) et Bacau (Roumanie) par Blue Air (2 vols/semaine), tandis que Montenegro Airlines assure pour la première fois des vols directs entre Bruxelles et Podgorica. Jetairfly effectue à partir de juin également des vols à destination de Tirana, ainsi que de Pristina (chaque fois 2 vols/semaine). La compagnie suédoise Skyways propose elle aussi une nouveauté au départ de Bruxelles: des vols directs à destination de Jönköping (10 vols/semaine). La compagnie espagnole Air Nostrum/Iberia a annoncé des vols à destination de Vigo (3 vols/semaine) et de Saint-Sébastien (2 vols/semaine, également une destination nouvelle) à partir de l'été. Outre ces nouvelles routes, de très nombreuses compagnies annoncent une augmentation de leurs fréquences.
Pour la saison d'été, une capacité accrue sera proposée sur certaines routes long-courriers: des appareils plus grands pour les vols vers Washington (United Airlines), Newark (United Airlines) et Montréal (Air Canada), des vols plus nombreux à destination d'Abu Dhabi (8 vols/semaines, Etihad Airways).

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company