Passenger figures up 3.6% in December 2010

January 25, 2011

Heavy snowfall in December affected air traffic all over Europe, including in Belgium. Nonetheless, Brussels Airport welcomed nearly 1.2 million passengers in December 2010, up 3.6% on 2009. Growth is recorded in all segments: intra-European traffic, long-haul as well as low cost. Even the leisure traffic grew slightly, despite the fact that the both weeks of the Christmas holidays fell in December last year, whereas in 2010 only the first week fell in December.

With 39,433 tonnes carried, cargo traffic was 2.2% up on December 2009. Although full-freighter traffic suffered from the winter conditions in Europe, other segments did well. Even the integrator traffic shows clear signs of recovery.

Aircraft movements
In December Brussels Airport recorded 16,649 aircraft movements, up 3.3% on pcp.  Although the last months showed a slight recovery, growth over the whole year remains negative.

New services
In 2010 18 direct routes were opened and 9 new airlines started operating from Brussels Airport. 2011 too looks promising with Qatar Airways starting a five weekly service to Doha as of end January and Air Vallée opening a four weekly service to Angers. As of mid February easyJet extends its network with a six weekly service to Liverpool. Jetairfly announces direct flights to Pristina and Tirana. Blue1 intends to increase the frequency of its flights.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

3,6% de passagers en plus au mois de décembre 2010

25 janvier 2011

Passagers
Les conditions hivernales rigoureuses de décembre 2010 ont entravé le trafic aérien dans toute l'Europe, y compris dans notre pays. Malgré tout, Brussels Airport a accueilli en décembre 2010 près de 1,2 million de passagers, une croissance de 3,6% par rapport au même mois de l'année précédente. La croissance se situe dans tous les segments d'activité: trafic intra-européen, long-courrier et low cost. Même le trafic vacanciers a noté une légère hausse nonobstant le fait que les vacances de Noël de 2009 comptaient deux semaines en décembre, contre une en 2010.

Fret
Le volume de fret totalisait 39,433 tonnes, en croissance de 2,2%. Alors que le trafic tout cargo soufrait particulièrement des conditions hivernales en Europe, les autres segments se sont bien comportés. Le trafic intégrateur fait preuve lui aussi d'une nette reprise.

Mouvements
Totalisant 16.649 mouvements d'avions, le nombre de vols reflète en décembre une croissance de 3,3%. Malgré une légère reprise de la croissance des mouvements au cours des derniers mois, celle-ci reste négative sur l'année.

Nouveaux vols
18 nouvelles destinations directes ont été ajoutées en 2010 au départ de Bruxelles, et 9 nouvelles compagnies aériennes y ont débuté des opérations. Les perspectives sont positives pour 2011 également. Qatar Airways ouvre fin janvier une liaison proposant cinq vols par semaine à destination de Doha; Air Vallée assure à partir de ce mois-ci quatre vols par semaine à destination d'Angers. easyJet ajoute à son programme dès le début de février une liaison vers Liverpool avec six vols par semaine. Jetairfly annonce des vols directs vers Pristina et Tirana, tandis que Blue1 a décidé une augmentation de ses fréquences.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company