The early days at Haren

The history of Brussels Airport start in World War I when the German troops build an airship hangar on a plain on the territory of Haren and Evere.

After the armistice of 11 November 1918 the Belgian military started to use the airfield and the remaining infrastructure. The zeppelin hangar that was not pulled down until 1923 was used to park the aircraft the Germans had left behind. A few of these aircraft would later be used to take civilians up on their first flight from Haren.

From the earliest days the Belgian royal house took a keen interest in aviation. On 31 March 1919 King Albert I signed the memorandum of association of SNETA (Syndicat National pour l'Etude des Transports Aériens).

A week after its creation, SNETA set up a test flight that would carry two passengers from Brussels to London, and back to Evere via Paris in a former German bomber. The whole flight took seven and a half hours, the time we need today to fly from Brussels to New York.

Little by little scheduled services were organised between Brussels and the British and French capitals. The military tolerated the civil aviation activities on its airfield. The military part of the airfield was referred to as Evere, whereas all civil activities took place on the territory of Haren.

Haren2The first passengers that left from Haren were received in a small wooden building along the Haachtsesteenweg.  Next to the wooden building a first brick Aérogare was constructed that served mainly to accommodate the administrative services.

The only large wooden hangar for civil aircraft burnt down on 27 September 1921. Because part of the SNETA fleet also went up in flames a large number of scheduled flights had to be cancelled. Soon after, the construction of brick hangars began. These hangars were enormous so that the still rather frail aircraft could be parked indoors in winter.

In August 1923 the first radio transmission station became operational.

In December of the same year SNETA successor Sabena got permission to build a new airport terminal. On 12 February 1925 the Sabena Handley Page W8f O-BAHO "Princesse Marie-José" took off near the hangars on its first Congo flight.

A week after Charles Lindbergh had flown his "Spirit of St.-Louis" from New York to Paris, he landed at Haren. The hero was received in Brussels by King Albert I and Queen Elisabeth.

Haren1Aviation continued to grow steadily and on 29 September 1929 the new airport terminal was taken into use. Although Haren still had a grass landing strip, a concrete apron was laid in front of the terminal so the passengers no longer had to walk through the dirt and mud to board their plane.

In the early years of its existence, our civil airport didn't have an actual runway. Planes simply took off against the wind from the large grass field. In the middle of the field a white circle was drawn with a large arrow pointing north. A smoke pot indicated the wind direction. Even gliders were still allowed to land at Haren in the thirties. 

Sabena was not the only airline at our airport. By the middle of the 1930s several foreign airline companies operated from our national airport: Imperial Airways, Air France, KLM, Deutsche Lufthansa, Hillman's Airways (to London with a stop at Het Zoute) and British Continental Airways.

Also in those days pooling and close collaboration between airlines were common practice.

With the number of movements amounting to 45,000 a year (239,349 in 2015), voices rose to modernize and expand the airfield at Haren.

On 23 February 1935 Haren saw the start of the first scheduled service to Congo, 10 years after the legendary trip of pioneer Thieffry and his crew.

The complete modernization of the infrastructure of Haren would never come to be. On 10 May 1940 the German troops invaded Belgium and within the week occupied the aerodrome

Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Les débuts à Haren

L'histoire de Brussels Airport commence pendant la première guerre mondiale lorsque les troupes allemandes construisent un hangars à zeppelins sur une plaine située à cheval sur les communes de Haren et Evere.

Après la signature de l'Armistice le 11 novembre 1918, l'aviation militaire belge commencera à utiliser le terrain et l'infrastructure ainsi abandonnée. Le hangar à zeppelins, qui ne sera démoli qu'en 1923, accueillera quant à lui les avions abandonnés par les Allemands et utilisés, pour certains, pour les premiers baptêmes de l'air civils au départ de Haren.

La maison royale belge s'intéressera très tôt aux premiers développements de l'aviation. Dès le 31 mars 1919, le Roi Albert Ier signe ainsi l'acte de constitution du SNETA (Syndicat National pour l'Etude des Transports Aériens).

Une semaine après sa constitution, le SNETA organise un vol d'essai qui emmène deux passagers à bord d'un bombardier allemand reconverti. Ce vol, qui effectue la liaison Bruxelles-Londres avec retour à Haren en passant par Paris, durera sept heures et demie, soit le temps que nous mettons aujourd'hui pour rejoindre New York.

Progressivement, des services réguliers voient le jour entre Bruxelles et les capitales française et britannique, les autorités militaires acceptant les activités civiles sur leur terrain. La partie militaire du champ d'aviation est alors implantée essentiellement sur le territoire de la commune d'Evere, tandis que la partie civile est située entièrement sur le territoire de Haren.

Haren2Les premiers passagers qui s'envolent à l'époque de Haren sont rassemblés dans un baraquement en bois, côté chaussée de Haecht.

C'est à cette époque également qu'a lieu la construction d'une première Aérogare en pierres. Celle-ci accueillera essentiellement les services administratifs. Le seul grand entrepôt en bois réservé aux avions civils est totalement détruit par le feu le 27 septembre 1921, ce qui provoque la suspension de nombreuses lignes, une partie de la flotte du SNETA ayant disparu dans les flammes. S'ouvre alors une ère de construction de hangars en pierres, très grands, qui permettent d'accueillir les avions encore frêles, à l'époque, durant l'hiver.

Le mois d'août 1923 est marqué par l'inauguration d'un premier centre radio. En décembre 1923, la Sabena (le successeur du SNETA) reçoit l'autorisation de construire un nouveau terminal aéroportuaire.

Le 12 février 1925, non loin des entrepôts, le Handley Page W8f O-BAHO "Princesse Marie-José" de la Sabena s'envole pour la première fois à destination du Congo.

Une semaine après avoir effectué son vol New York - Paris à bord du "Spirit of St.-Louis", Charles Lindbergh se pose sur le champ d'aviation de Haren. Le héros est accueilli à Bruxelles par le Roi Albert Ier et la Reine Elisabeth.

Haren1Le trafic aérien ne cesse de se développer et le 29 septembre 1929, le nouveau terminal aéroportuaire est officiellement mis en service. Alors que Haren dispose encore d'une piste de gazon, une plate-forme en béton est coulée devant le bâtiment de l'aéroport, ce qui évitera désormais aux passagers de devoir marcher dans la boue pour rejoindre leur avion.

Il n'était pas question en effet, durant les premières années de notre aviation civile, d'une grande piste de décollage. Les décollages se faisaient tout simplement contre le vent sur la grande piste verte. Une rose des vents était dessinée au milieu de la piste et un pot de fumée indiquait la direction du vent. Même les planeurs pouvaient encore utiliser, dans les années trente, la piste de Haren.

Outre la Sabena, plusieurs compagnies aériennes internationales se mirent également à utiliser notre aéroport national au milieu des années trente : Imperial Airways, Air France, KLM, Deutsche Lufthansa (Deutsche Luft Hansa jusque juin 1933,) Hillman's Airways (vols à destination de Londres avec escale au Zoute) et British Continental Airways.

Pooling et collaboration étroite entre les compagnies aériennes étaient également une pratique courante à l'époque.

C'est à cette époque également que l'on commença doucement à parler de modernisation et d'élargissement pour le site de Haren, surtout que le champ d'aviation affichait près de 45.000 mouvements sur base annuelle (239.349 en 2015).

Le 23 février 1935 marqua le départ du premier vol régulier à destination du Congo, dix ans après le vol légendaire du pionnier Edmond Thieffry et de son équipage.

Il ne sera plus jamais question d'une modernisation totale de l'infrastructure de Haren. Le 10 mai 1940 en effet, les troupes allemandes envahissent à nouveau la Belgique et prennent possession du champ d'aviation une semaine plus tard.

Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company