Integration Manager Els Renders

With Connector, Brussels Airport isn't just getting a modern, open, airy building – you genuinely feel that the building is at the heart of all the airport's activities.

Els Renders, Integration Manager within the Connector team, is convinced this will make a world of difference for passengers and the people who work there.

"In Connector, passengers will get a true airport experience. No more tunnels or corridors where you feel cut off from the outside world: instead, a fantastic view of everything that's happening on the tarmac. Plus the spaces are open and bright, and there are so many things to see and do in the shops and restaurants. Waiting for a flight becomes an experience in itself!" says Renders.

"And it actually starts at security," she continues. “Because it's so open and the ceilings are so high, you never feel crammed in like a sardine, even though you're waiting in line with several other people. On the contrary, it's a pleasant and relaxing place. And everything is much clearer for the passengers now: there's one central access platform and one central security platform. Only after that is there a split between Pier A and Pier B,” Renders adds.

Looking back over the project, Renders is pleased that a relatively small team has been able to realise such a big project on time and on budget.

"We've succeeded in balancing all the building's commercial and operational interests, as well as its technical requirements. And the building was installed right in the heart of the airport – that was no mean feat. It wasn't just the building itself that we had to take into account, but also the ongoing activities and passengers, so the airport could carry on operating as normal.

"Now we have Connector, our airport is ready for the future. During its construction, we had to take into consideration projected passenger figures up to 2030, so even then the building will be just as roomy and open for all passengers as it is now."

Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Integration Manager Els Renders

Au travers du Connector, Brussels Airport n'inaugure pas seulement un bâtiment moderne, ouvert et clair mais on sent vraiment que le lieu se trouve au cœur de toutes les activités de l'aéroport. Selon Els Renders, Integration Manager au sein de l'équipe Connector, cela fera un monde de différence pour les passagers et les personnes qui y travaillent.

« Les passagers vivront une vraie expérience aéroportuaire dans le Connector. Finis les tunnels et les couloirs qui vous coupent du monde extérieur ! Ils sont remplacés par une vue fantastique sur toutes les activités qui se déroulent sur le tarmac. De plus, tous les espaces sont ouverts et lumineux, et il y a toutes sortes de choses à voir et à faire dans les boutiques et les restaurants. Attendre son vol devient une expérience en soi ! », se réjouit Els Renders.

« Et cela commence en fait dès le contrôle de sûreté. Grâce au dimensionnement généreux de l'espace et à la hauteur des plafonds, vous n'avez jamais l'impression d'être une sardine dans une boîte, même si vous faites la file avec d'autres personnes. C'est au contraire un lieu agréable et apaisant. Tout devient aussi plus clair pour les passagers : 1 plateforme d'accès et 1 plateforme de screening centrales. Ce n'est qu'après qu'il y a une séparation entre la jetée A et la jetée B », précise Els Renders.

Lorsqu'elle repense au projet, Els Renders exprime sa satisfaction qu'une équipe relativement petite ait pu réaliser un travail d'une telle ampleur dans les délais et le budget impartis.

« Nous sommes parvenus à maintenir un équilibre entre les intérêts commerciaux et opérationnels et les contraintes techniques du bâtiment. C'était pourtant loin d'être évident étant donné que le Connector devait être érigé en plein cœur de l'aéroport. Nous ne devions pas seulement tenir compte du bâtiment même mais aussi des activités actuelles et des passagers, pour que l'aéroport continue de fonctionner. »

« Avec le Connector, notre aéroport est prêt pour l'avenir. Lors de la construction, il a été tenu compte des prévisions en termes de passagers pour 2030, afin que le bâtiment reste aussi spacieux et ouvert pour tous les passagers même à un horizon aussi lointain. »
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company