Support Services Manager Dirk Hoornaert

As Support Services Manager Dirk Hoornaert was involved in Connector from the very beginning. The opening of the new building will provide an unparalleled passenger experience, due to – among other things – the innovations in the screening process.

After the opening of Connector, our passengers will be screened at the start of the process flow, i.e. before they enter the shopping area.  “Once they went through screening, passengers can relax and take time to enjoy the magnificent view or allow themselves to be tempted to do some shopping in the most spectacular and most beautiful shop in our country”, says Dirk.

“Signage in Connector is sober but stylish and this also goes for passenger guidance. Based on the experience from existing platforms we will guide our passengers in an organised and structured way through a gigantic screening platform”. The platform will be equipped with brand-new state-of-the-art screening machines and is designed to further optimise passenger flows.

Dirk is proud of the result his and the other teams achieved:  “Accommodating construction site traffic and passenger flows was no sinecure. I sometimes think ours are the best passengers in the world. In spite of the sometimes crazy turns we’ve had to have them make there were surprisingly few complaints. Moreover we succeeded in putting down an impressive result in spite of the strict deadlines, the limited budgets and the many obstacles.”

The first milestone is reached, according to Dirk. The next challenge will be to have the passenger flow to gates B run through Connector. That means new partners and more automated processes, new deadlines and more strict budgets to respect.  “Bring it on!”, Dirk concludes.
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Support Services Manager Dirk Hoornaert

En tant que Support Services Manager, Dirk Hoornaert a été impliqué dans le projet Connector depuis le tout début. L’ouverture de ce nouveau bâtiment offrira aux passagers une expérience inégalée grâce à – entre autres – les innovations sur le plan du contrôle de sûreté.

Après l’ouverture du Connector nos passagers passeront le contrôle de sûreté avant d’entrer dans la zone commerciale. “Non seulement, le passager détendu aura le temps de profiter de la belle vue, il aura aussi et avant tout le temps de se laisser tenter à faire du shopping dans le centre commercial le plus spectaculaire et le plus beau du pays”, explique Dirk.

“La signalisation et le guidage des passagers dans Connector sont sobres et élégants.  Partant de l’expérience que nous avons acquise sur les plateformes existantes, nous guiderons nos passagers d’une manière organisée et structurée à travers une plateforme de screening géante.” La plateforme est équipée de machines de screening dernier cri et est conçue pour optimiser davantage le flux des passagers. 

Dirk est fier du résultat que son équipe, ensemble avec les autres équipes, a réalisé.  “Réconcilier le trafic de chantier avec les flux de passagers n’était pas une sinécure. En fait, je crois que nous devons avoir les meilleurs passagers au monde; si l’on sait quels drôles de chemins nous étions obligés de leur faire prendre, nous n’avons reçu qu’un nombre très limité de plaintes.  En plus, nous avons réussi à réaliser un beau résultat final juste à temps, malgré des délais strictes, des budgets réduits et de nombreux obstacles.”

Le premier cap est passé, selon Dirk. Le prochain défi sera de faire passer le flux de passagers vers la jetée B par Connector. Cela sous-entend des nouveaux partenaires et des processus davantage automatisés, des nouveaux délais et budgets strictes.  « Je suis prêt pour le défi !, » Dirk conclut.
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company