Connector: Architecture

February 5, 2015

A modern, state-of-the art building in the heart of the airport. This is Connector. Literally a connecting building it is also an architectural bridge between two different zeitgeists and styles. Connector itself is contemporary, open, low-energy building with an eye to the future.

The departure hall in the terminal and Pier B date from the 90s, and the Topaz building at Pier A from the 2000s. The two buildings were designed in different zeitgeists and with different architectural accents.

The challenge for Connector was to bring the two buildings together, in a stylish and contemporary form.

One of Connector’s immediately striking features is the saw-tooth roof. Apart from aesthetic and technical considerations, this saw-tooth structure of the roof has the advantage of letting in more natural light, thus creating a pleasant environment as well as being energy-efficient. And because it is cold northerly light, the building doesn’t heat up.

To create harmony, the colour of both the terminal (white) and of Topaz (grey) are incorporated into the facades, contrasting with the dark-grey facade of the ground floor.


Building with sloping facades
Besides the challenge of creating an aesthetic architectural unity, there were various practical construction challenges. For example, the existing passenger tunnel right next to the Connector site, which had to be kept fully operational.

Another crucial factor was the slope of the terrain: between the terminal and Pier A there is a height difference of 2.4 metres. This makes the check-in in the terminal, for example, 7 metres higher than the gates in Pier A. Connector accommodates this difference in height by having only one double escalator between the level with the screening lanes and the shopping and relaxation section.

Standing close to the facade of Connector, you will see that it slopes slightly outward, by 8 degrees in fact. This was necessary to prevent the building from reflecting radar beams from Belgocontrol or signals from aircraft radio navigation systems that might confuse or bother pilots.

Not only did the facades have to slope, but they were also required to withstand jet blasts. Big aircraft can produce wind speeds of up to 160 kilometres per hour behind them when they start their engines, and so the facades and the structures were adapted accordingly.

Tarmac view
Passengers are part of the airport, and so it was decided to build an open and transparent building that would give them a broad view of all the activities that go on here.

Starting with the screening platform, where passengers can see through the big windows on to the tarmac. A striking feature here is the ‘wing’, an architectural feat in Connector that screens off various technical elements.

To prevent the many windows from causing the building to overheat, they have been fitted with sun screens and vertical fins, which have been incorporated into the facades as an aesthetic element.

The screens on the west side are jagged and contain meshwork that takes the form of elongated hexagons. The shape and size of the meshwork has been designed to prevent the screens from reflecting radar beams and signals from aircraft.

Restful interior

The passenger was the focal point in the design of the interior, and the brief was to create a restful and agreeable atmosphere in Connector. Accordingly, quality materials were selected, with a harmonious colour palette that makes the building light and airy. The main colours are white and grey, supplemented with some colour accents in the furniture, for example, as highlights.

The floor is mainly of natural stone, supplemented with zones of ceramic tiles with a wood appearance to provide a feeling of warmth.

The shops in Connector have also been coordinated with the main colours of white and grey, so that everything forms one attractive whole. The shopping section is in white, with the shop names appearing on glass.

Concerning the furniture and layout, it was important to combine the aesthetic with the functional. For example, there are different types of seating: seats, comfortable chairs and reclining chairs, with some being fitted with an electric socket and USB port to allow the charging of tablets, mobiles and other devices.




> click here to meet project leader Damien


Some figures
Total surface area: 32,850 m²
Footprint: 11,000 m²
Length: 220m
Breadth: 50m
Number of floors: tarmac level +2
Construction term: 22 months
Construction costs: €62 million
Volume of concrete: 4,000 m²
Volume of steel: 2,000 tonnes
Foundation: 560 columns, together 3.5 km long
Elevators: 3
Escalators: 6

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Connector: Architecture

5 février 2015

Un bâtiment moderne et dernier cri au cœur même de l’aéroport. Levé de rideau sur le « Connector », véritable bâtiment de liaison en surface doublé d’une passerelle architecturale entre deux styles et deux époques très différents. Le Connector est un bâtiment ouvert arborant un style moderne et minimisant son impact sur l’environnement en vue de préserver notre avenir.

Le hall des départs du terminal et la jetée B remontent aux années 1990, alors que le bâtiment Topaz au niveau de la jetée A date des années 2000. Ces deux constructions reflètent les canons architecturaux de différentes époques. Le Connector se devait donc d’être le trait d’union entre les styles des deux ensembles pour obtenir un tout harmonieux et contemporain.

Un premier élément surprenant du Connector est le toit en shed. Cette toiture à redents présente des avantages esthétiques et techniques tout en permettant un éclairage naturel supplémentaire de l’espace intérieur.

Cette lumière naturelle crée un environnement agréable tout en réduisant la consommation d’énergie. Comme il s’agit d’une lumière du nord, froide, le bâtiment ne subira pas de surchauffe.

Afin de créer une harmonie des couleurs, les façades reprennent la couleur tant du terminal (blanc) que du bâtiment Topaz (gris), qui contraste avec la façade gris foncé du rez-de-chaussée.

 

 

Façades en pente
Cette construction représentait un certain nombre de défis dont la création d’une unité architecturale esthétique et différents tours de force sur le plan pratique. Ainsi, il fallait que le tunnel à passagers existant, à proximité immédiate du Connector, reste totalement opérationnel pendant les travaux.

Un autre facteur déterminant est la pente du terrain : entre le terminal et la jetée A, le dénivelé est de 2,4 mètres. Le check-in dans le terminal se trouve ainsi 7 mètres plus haut que les portes d’embarquement de la jetée A. Le Connector est parvenu à gommer cette différence de hauteur en ne recourant qu’ à un seul double escalator entre le niveau des voies de contrôle et l’espace détente et shopping.

L’observateur qui se trouvera à proximité de la façade du Connector découvrira qu’elle penche légèrement vers l’extérieur, plus précisément une inclinaison de 8 degrés. Celle-ci était nécessaire pour éviter que le bâtiment ne réfléchisse les ondes radar de Belgocontrol ou les signaux du système de radionavigation des avions, qui pourraient gêner ou perturber les pilotes.

Les façades devaient non seulement être inclinées, mais devaient aussi résister au souffle des réacteurs. En effet, un grand avion peut générer des vents pouvant atteindre la vitesse de 160 kilomètres par heure derrière lui au démarrage des moteurs. C’est la raison pour laquelle les façades et les structures du bâtiment y sont adaptées.


Vue sur le tarmac

Le passager fait partie intégrante de l’aéroport. C’est pourquoi il a été décidé de construire un bâtiment ouvert et transparent autour des passagers afin de leur permettre de contempler sans obstacle toutes les activités aéroportuaires.

Cette approche commence déjà au niveau de la plateforme de contrôle dont les grandes baies vitrées donnent sur le tarmac. Un élément surprenant à ce niveau est l’« aile », une prouesse architecturale du Connector destinée à protéger différents éléments techniques.

Afin d’éviter toute montée brutale en température en raison des nombreuses surfaces vitrées, des stores et des ventelles ont été placés. Intégrés à la façade, ils en deviennent des éléments esthétiques.

Sur la façade ouest, les stores sont dentelés et sont formés de mailles de forme hexagonale allongée. La forme et la grandeur des mailles sont conçues de telle sorte que les stores ne réfléchissent aucune onde radar ou signaux des avions.



Un intérieur apaisant

Le passager a été l’élément central de la conception de l’intérieur. Le Connector devait créer une ambiance agréable et apaisante.

C’est la raison pour laquelle le choix s’est résolument porté sur des matériaux haute qualité et une palette de couleurs harmonieuse qui confère légèreté et luminosité à l’ensemble du bâtiment.

Les couleurs principales sont le blanc et le gris, rehaussés de quelques touches de couleurs pour le mobilier par exemple pour attirer l’attention des passagers sur certains éléments.

Le revêtement de sol se compose ainsi principalement de pierres naturelles, associées par endroits à des zones de dalles en céramique avec un look « bois » afin de susciter un climat chaleureux.

Les boutiques du Connector s’inscrivent aussi dans un cadre uniforme qui fait la part belle au blanc et au gris, et forment ainsi un ensemble des plus harmonieux. L’encadrement des boutiques est en blanc et le nom de la boutique figure sur du verre.

Au chapitre du mobilier et de l’aménagement, l’accent a été mis sur l’alliance de l’esthétique et du fonctionnel. C’est ainsi que les sièges se déclinent en chaises, chaises confort et chaises longues, certaines étant équipées d’une prise et d’une entrée USB afin de pouvoir y charger tablettes, GSM et autres appareils électriques.

 

> Cliquez ici pour faire la connaissance de Damien qui a géré ce projet


Quelques chiffres
Superficie totale du bâtiment : 32.850 m²
Emprise au sol : 11.000 m²
Longueur : 220m
Largeur : 50m
Nombre d’étages : niveau tarmac +2
Délai d’exécution : 22 mois
Coût de la construction : 62 millions d’euros
Quantité de béton : 4.000 m²
Quantité d’acier : 2.000 tonnes
Fondation : 560 pieux, soit une longueur totale de 3,5 km de pieux
Ascenseurs : 3
Escalators : 6

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company